Delfos Cricket Club crowned T20 Community Cup champions

Delfos Cricket Club.File image: Delfos Cricket Club.

Delfos Cricket Club won the latest Multiply T20 Community Cup in Pretoria on Sunday.

The Gauteng-based club suffered a closing defeat to Durbanville Cricket Club, but triumphs over Old Selbornian Cricket Club, Clares Cricket Club, Kempton Park Cricket Club and Burma Lads Cricket Club were enough for the title.

Delfos Cricket Club seamer Kyle Wilson was the tournament’s leading wicket-taker, with 14 in five matches. Their highest run-scorer was the hard-hitting JP Kok, who struck 225 in five innings.

Kok’s tally included a superb 99 off a mere 54 deliveries, which included seven fours and as many sixes, against Clares Cricket Club.

ALSO SEE: Tournament photo gallery

Wilson and Kok were named Bowler of the Tournament and Player of the Tournament, respectively.

Gauteng’s Jeppe Quondam Cricket Club won the inaugural T20 Community Cup in early 2017. Cape Town’s Durbanville Cricket Club clinched the second title later that year.

Jeppe Quondam Cricket Club did not qualify for the competition this time – and Durbanville Cricket Club effectively finished in fourth position after three wins in five attempts.

Kempton Park Cricket Club, Clares Cricket Club, Burma Lads Cricket Club and Old Selbornian Cricket Club finished second, third, fifth and sixth, respectively.

The three-day tournament featured several franchise players, including Delfos Cricket Club’s Lions fast bowler Craig Alexander, Clares Cricket Club’s Dolphins batsman Cody Chetty and Durbanville Cricket Club’s Cape Cobras opener Pieter Malan.

Be the first to comment on "Delfos Cricket Club crowned T20 Community Cup champions"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.