Maiden Cape Cobras inclusion for Rondebosch Cricket Club batsman

File image: Tayo Walbrugh.

Rondebosch Cricket Club batsman Tayo Walbrugh has been named in the Cape Cobras’ squad for the first time.

Walbrugh has collected 381 runs in 15 innings at an average of under 28 in the ongoing 2019-20 Western Province Cricket Association premier league.

He welcomed a List A debut for Western Province in provincial competition late last year. His first-class debut came earlier this year.

The Cobras, who currently occupy last position in the six-team standings of the One-Day Cup, will play against the Knights at the Recreation Ground in Oudtshoorn on Saturday.

“This squad has been hit by some call-ups to the national team which is always a positive, but obviously missing Kyle Verreynne, Janneman Malan and George Linde leaves a big hole in the team. That gives an opportunity to other people to stake a claim and cement their place in the Cobras and look to emulate others who have gone on to get call-ups to the national team,” said head coach Ashwell Prince.

The squad also includes Pinelands Cricket Club’s Jonathan Bird, Cape Town Cricket Club’s Thando Ntini and Victoria Cricket Club’s Rory Kleinveldt.

Cape Cobras squad

Zubayr Hamza (captain), Ferisco Adams, Jonathan Bird, Rory Kleinveldt, Aviwe Mgijima, Akhona Mnyaka, Mangaliso Mosehle, Pieter Malan, Tsepo Ndwandwa, Thando Ntini, Dane Piedt, Jason Smith, Tayo Walbrugh, Lizaad Williams.

Be the first to comment on "Maiden Cape Cobras inclusion for Rondebosch Cricket Club batsman"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.