Newlands confirmed as Ama20 Competition finals venue

The four first division finals for the Western Province Cricket Association’s 2018-19 Ama20 Competition will be played at Newlands.

The finals are traditionally played at the iconic venue, but alternatives were considered amid a busy provincial, franchise and international cricket season in Cape Town.

Last month, finalists were afforded the choice of playing at neutral club venues on 17 March – or Newlands on 27 April. The latter was confirmed this week.

Avendale Cricket Club and Strandfontein Cricket Club will contest the first division A final. In first division A 50-over innings cricket, the former are battling to avoid relegation to the first division B, while the latter remain in contention for promotion to the premier league.

Hottentots Holland Cricket Club will clash with Somerset West Cricket Club in the Ama20 Competition first division B final.

The first division C final will see Glamorgan Cricket Club meet Kensington Cricket Club. In the first division D final, Belhar Cricket Club will face Mitchells Plain Cricket Club.

Durbanville Cricket Club beat Bellville Cricket Club in the final of the Ama20 Competition premier league final, at the University of the Western Cape Cricket Club, last year.

Durbanville, therefore, qualified for the T20 Community Cup in Pretoria again – but failed to defend 2017’s title.

Be the first to comment on "Newlands confirmed as Ama20 Competition finals venue"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.