Titans contract Western Province Cricket Club and Cape Cobras all-rounder

File image: Dayyaan Galiem.

Western Province Cricket Club and Cape Cobras all-rounder Dayyaan Galiem has been contracted by the Titans for the 2019-20 season.

“Dayyaan has good stats. He is a youngster who might find this environment rewarding and a boost for his career,” said Titans head coach Mark Boucher.

Galiem represented the Atlantic Pirates in the inaugural Cape Premier League last month – and impressed with a near century against the Dromedaris Dragons. The club cricket tournament also featured Proteas batsman Zubayr Hamza and spinner Dane Piedt, who represented the Cape Vikings. The Vikings won the CPL after beating the Hoeri Kwaggo Bulls in the final at Newlands.

Former Western Province Cricket Club fast bowler Tshepo Moreki joined the Titans last year – and has been contracted for the 2019-20 season, too. The list also features several Proteas cricketers, including wicketkeeper-batsman Quinton de Kock, captain Faf du Plessis, fast bowlers Dale Steyn and Lungi Ngidi and wrist-spinner Tabraiz Shamsi.

Titans’ contracted players for 2019-20 season: Andrea Agathangelou, Matthew Arnold, Farhaan Behardien, Corbin Bosch, Neil Brand, Junior Dala, Henry Davids, Tony de Zorzi, Dayyaan Galiem, Heinrich Klaasen, Tshepo Moreki, Alfred Mothoa, Marcello Piedt, Grant Thomson, Jonathan Vandiar. Rookies: Ruan de Swardt, Kabelo Sekhukhune.

Titans’ Cricket South Africa contracted players: Quinton de Kock, Theunis de Bruyn, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Aiden Markram, Lungi Ngidi, Tabraiz Shamsi, Dale Steyn.

Be the first to comment on "Titans contract Western Province Cricket Club and Cape Cobras all-rounder"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.