Club Cricket SA’s Multiply T20 Community Cup Team Of The Tournament

Sivuyile DudaFile image: Sivuyile Duda.

We, at Club Cricket SA, name our Team of the Tournament, after the recently-concluded Multiply T20 Community Cup in Pretoria…

1. Wesley Marshall (Kempton Park Cricket Club)
Runs: 145, Strike rate: 131, Highest score: 82

The recent recipient of a superb century and a couple of complementary half-tons for Easterns in the 2017-18 Sunfoil 3-Day Cup, Marshall carried the solid stretch of form into this tournament – and finished as the second highest run-scorer.

2. Kudakwashe Samunderu (Durbanville Cricket Club, captain)
Runs: 81, Strike rate: 100, Highest score: 33

Samunderu consistently afforded the eventual champions a solid platform for the middle order to capitalise on – and his leadership of the only undefeated team was exemplary.

3. Chris Peyper (Impala Cricket Club)
Runs: 157, Strike rate: 114, Highest score: 66

Despite falling for a duck against Kempton Park Cricket Club, Peyper still managed to score the most runs and was named Batsman of the Tournament, thanks largely to brisk half-tons against Bobbies Cricket Club and United Cricket Club.

4. Kyle Nipper (Standard Cricket Club)
Runs: 63, Strike rate: 140, Highest score: 37, Wickets: 10, Economy rate: 4.25, Best bowling: 4/15

Unable to hold a place in KwaZulu-Natal’s first-class XI, Nipper reminded the province of his ability with the ball by finishing as the joint-highest wicket-taker alongside Kempton Park Cricket Club’s Felane, but would have expected more of himself with the bat.

5. Pieter Malan (Durbanville Cricket Club)
Runs: 133, Strike rate: 106, Highest score: 33*, Wickets: 4, Economy rate: 2/4, Best bowling: 6.86

Deemed surplus to requirements for the Cape Cobras’ ongoing Ram Slam T20 Challenge campaign, Malan took the opportunity to impress in Pretoria – and chipped in with the ball a bit.

6. Dewald Pretorius (Bobbies Cricket Club)
Runs: 123, Strike rate: 127, Highest score: 47, Wickets: 8, Economy rate: 6.69, Best bowling: 3/22

Statistically the best all-rounder, Pretorius proved particularly impressive with the bat against United Cricket Club – and telling with the ball against Kempton Park Cricket Club. The hard-hitting left-hander struck the most sixes – and was named Player of the Tournament.

7. Sivuyile Duda (United Cricket Club, wicketkeeper)
Runs: 85, Strike rate: 86, Highest score: 29

United Cricket Club’s lone representative in this XI, Duda was sound behind the stumps in difficult circumstances – and weighed in with the willow well enough against challenging opposition attacks.

8. Sipho Mashele (Impala Cricket Club)
Wickets: 8, Economy rate: 6, Best bowling: 3/24

Mashele enjoyed a brief first-class career for Limpopo in 2007, opening the bowling against the likes of Stephen Cook and Dean Elgar. A decade later, he proved he is still among the region’s most wily seamers, albeit at club level.

9. Brandon Viret (Durbanville Cricket Club)
Wickets: 6, Economy rate: 5, Best bowling: 3/9

An excellent partner to right-armer Hartley with the new ball, left-armer Viret’s miserly economy rate was among the best – and largely epitomised against Standard Cricket Club in particular.

10. Neo Felane (Kempton Park Cricket Club)
Wickets: 10, Economy rate: 5.29, Best bowling: 5/17

Still a teenager, Felane held his own in a competition lined with grown men. The talented off-spinner was the joint-highest wicket-taker alongside Standard Cricket Club’s Nipper – and secured the Bowler of the Tournament accolade.

11. Charlie Hartley (Durbanville Cricket Club)
Wickets: 9, Economy rate: 5.94, Best bowling: 5/19

Injury cut short Hartley’s stay with Durbanville Cricket Club last season, but the former Kent seamer made up for the curtailment in Pretoria. His five-wicket haul against United Cricket Club was one of only two five-fors in the tournament.