Ryan Rickelton, Migael Pretorius join Abu Dhabi T10

File image: Ryan Rickelton.

Lions wicketkeeper-batsman Ryan Rickelton has been recruited by the Deccan Gladiators for the latest edition of the Abu Dhabi T10, which will start in November 2021.

Rickelton captained the Lions in the recent T20 Knockout tournament. The team, however, failed to qualify for the next stage of Cricket South Africa’s new competition.

🔔 Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp – club cricket news straight to your phone. User comments disabled, so no spam – just relevant news.

He was named in the Proteas’ T20 squad for the tour of Pakistan earlier this year, but did not debut.

Previously, Rickelton has played for the Jozi Stars, alongside West Indian batsman Chris Gayle and other international stars, in the Mzansi Super League.

All-rounder Migael Pretorius, who recently represented the Jamaica Tallawahs in the Caribbean Premier League, has moved from the Deccan Gladiators to the Maratha Arabians in the Abu Dhabi T10.

Pretorius was in the Proteas’ Test squad for last year’s series against Sri Lanka, but did not debut.

Elsewhere in the Abu Dhabi T10, Team Abu Dhabi have re-signed former Proteas fast bowler Marchant de Lange.

The Delhi Bulls have retained Knights batsman Rilee Rossouw.

Leg-spinner Imran Tahir will play for the Northern Warriors.

Former Proteas captain Faf du Plessis has been named the Bangla Tigers’ icon player and captain.

The tournament will also feature former Eastern Province Under-19 batsman Chris Benjamin and former South Africa Under-19 all-rounder Curtis Campher.

Benjamin and Campher have since relocated from South Africa to pursue careers in England and Ireland, respectively. Benjamin will play for Team Abu Dhabi. Campher will represent the Maratha Arabians.

South Africans in the Abu Dhabi T10

  • Migael Pretorius (Maratha Arabians)
  • Ryan Rickelton (Deccan Gladiators)
  • David Wiese (Deccan Gladiators)
  • Ingram Team Abu Dhabi
  • Marchant de Lange Team Abu Dhabi
  • Imran Tahir (Northern Warriors)
  • Rilee Rossouw (Delhi Bulls)
  • Faf du Plessis (Bangla Tigers)

The fifth edition of the Abu Dhabi T10 will start on 19 November and end on 4 December 2021.

The Northern Warriors are the reigning champions. They beat the Delhi Bulls in February 2021’s final.

Also read

Be the first to comment on "Ryan Rickelton, Migael Pretorius join Abu Dhabi T10"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.