Cricket South Africa confirm two Tests and five T20Is against West Indies

File image.

South Africa will tour the West Indies for two Tests and five T20Is from mid-June to early July 2021.

The Daren Sammy Cricket Ground in St Lucia and National Cricket Stadium in Grenada will host the Tests and T20Is, respectively.

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp – club cricket news straight to your phone. Comments disabled. No spam.

The Proteas and West Indies have contested 28 Tests since the first in 1992. South Africa have won 18 and the men from the Caribbean three. They have shared seven draws. South Africa have not played Test cricket in the West Indies since 2010.

The Proteas and West Indies have played 10 T20Is since the first in 2007. The Proteas and Windies have won six and four, respectively. Both are preparing for the T20 World Cup later this year.

“We are extremely pleased to have the men’s team’s tour to the West Indies officially confirmed,” said Cricket South Africa director of cricket Graeme Smith.

“The coronavirus pandemic has played havoc with the ICC Future Tours Programme and we are thankful to Cricket West Indies and the governments of St Lucia and Grenada for ensuring that the tour goes ahead as planned.

“The hosting nations, in particular, came to the party at very short notice and Cricket South Africa would like to extend its immense gratitude to them for their enthusiasm and willingness to host us.

“Tours to the West Indies are always one of the most highly anticipated tours of them all, not only because of the beauty of the venues, but the quality and competitiveness of the cricket that is in store.

“We are looking forward to explosive displays of cricket and entertainment on our screens for fans around the world to consume as the two evenly matched countries come together for both Test and T20 cricket.”

Schedule for Proteas’ tour of West Indies

  • First Test: 10 to 14 June 2021, St Lucia
  • Second Test: 18 to 22 June 2021, St Lucia
  • First T20I: 26 June 2021, Grenada
  • Second T20I: 27 June 2021, Grenada
  • Third T20I: 29 June 2021, Grenada
  • Fourth T20I: 1 July 2021, Grenada
  • Fifth T20I: 3 July 2021, Grenada

Also read