Michael Levitt named in Netherlands squad for World Cup Qualifier

Michael Levitt NetherlandsMichael Levitt.

Batsman Michael Levitt has been included in the Netherlands’ squad for next month’s World Cup Qualifier in Zimbabwe.

Levitt represented Western Province Under-19 before joining Voorburg Cricket Club in the TopklasseĀ  – a leading limited-overs competition in the Netherlands. He has since played for Netherlands A.

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

“It has been a goal of mine since I can remember to play professional cricket. By playing at VCC and gaining more experience and knowledge I hope to get one step closer to my goal,” said Levitt.

“My big ambition in the 2023 season and beyond is to improve myself as a person and player in hopes of representing the Netherlands.”

Western Province Cricket Club’s Ryan Klein has also been named in the Netherlands squad. All-rounders Colin Ackermann and Roelof van der Merwe were excluded. They are playing in the County Championship in the United Kingdom.

“Coming off the back of a three-game series in Zimbabwe a few months ago, we have been really intentional in our preparation for the qualifiers and we are confident the squad we have picked can play a brand of cricket that will be successful in these conditions,” said Netherlands captain Scott Edwards.

“We have a good mixture of experienced players along with some exciting young players who have performed well in the domestic Pro Series and club season leading into this tournament.”

The Netherlands have been grouped with Nepal, Zimbabwe, West Indies and United States of America for the World Cup Qualifer.

Sri Lanka, Ireland, Scotland, United Arab Emirates and Oman are in the other group.

The teams who finish in first and second position in the 10-team tournament, which will be played in Zimbabwe from 18 June to 9 July, will advance to the World Cup in India later this year.

Netherlands squad for World Cup Qualifier

  1. Scott Edwards (captain)
  2. Max O’Dowd
  3. Logan van Beek
  4. Vikram Singh
  5. Aryan Dutt
  6. Viv Kingma
  7. Bas de Leede
  8. Noah Croes
  9. Ryan Klein
  10. Teja Nidamanuru
  11. Wesley Barresi
  12. Shariz Ahmad
  13. Clayton Floyd
  14. Michael Levitt
  15. Saqib Zulfiqar

MORE Cricket World Cup news