Dutch pick Brandon Glover for T20 World Cup

File image: Brandon Glover.File image: Brandon Glover.

Former Boland seamer Brandon Glover, former Eastern Province batsman Colin Ackermann and former Western Province all-rounder Ryan ten Doeschate have been included in the Netherlands’ squad for the 2021 T20 World Cup.

Ackermann played the last of 11 T20Is for the Dutch in 2019. Glover represented the Dutch in ODI cricket as recently as June 2021 – and ten Doeschate hasn’t played international cricket in two years.

Former Proteas all-rounder Roelof van der Merwe has also been included.

? Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp – club cricket news straight to your phone. User comments disabled, so no spam – just relevant news.

Netherlands squad for 2021 T20 World Cup

  1. Pieter Seelaar (captain)
  2. Colin Ackermann (vice-captain)
  3. Philippe Boissevain
  4. Bas de Leede
  5. Paul van Meekeren
  6. Ben Cooper
  7. Max O’Dowd
  8. Scott Edwards
  9. Ryan ten Doeschate
  10. Timm van der Gugten
  11. Roelof van der Merwe
  12. Brandon Glover
  13. Fred Klaassen
  14. Logan van Beek
  15. Stephan Myburgh


Tobias Visée
Shane Snater

Coaching staff

  • Head coach: Ryan Campbell
  • Assistant coach: James Hilditch
  • Specialist coach: Ian Salisbury
  • Bowling coach: Chris Liddle
  • Manager: George Dunlop
  • Physiotherapist: Evan Speechly

What head coach Ryan Campbell said

“This has probably been my toughest selection process since I’ve taken over the job. I am excited about the blend of experience and youth,” said Campbell.

Colin will step up to the vice-captaincy role and it’ll be fantastic to have veteran ten Doeschate come with us for one last hoorah.

“I think our strength will always be our fast bowling group and all of them have had a fantastic season, especially our county bowlers. I look forward to seeing them make a real impact during this tournament.”

Also read