Proteas include Heinrich Klaasen and Reeza Hendricks in T20 World Cup squad

File image: Heinrich Klaasen.File image: Heinrich Klaasen.

Cricket South Africa have named the Proteas’ squad for the T20 World Cup in Oman and the United Arab Emirates later this year.

All-rounder Andile Phehlukwayo, spinner George Linde and seamer Lizaad Williams have been excluded from the 15-man squad, but named as travelling reserves.

Batsman Janneman Malan and wicketkeeper-batsman Kyle Verreynne were also overlooked.

Wrist-spinner Tabraiz Shamsi, left-armer Bjorn Fortuin and off-spinner Keshav Maharaj are the three specialist slow bowlers in the squad.

Batsman Reeza Hendricks and wicketkeeper-batsman Heinrich Klaasen have been included.

? Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp – club cricket news straight to your phone. User comments disabled, so no spam – just relevant news.

South Africa squad for 2021 T20 World Cup

  1. Temba Bavuma (captain)
  2. Keshav Maharaj
  3. Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper)
  4. Bjorn Fortuin
  5. Reeza Hendricks
  6. Heinrich Klaasen
  7. Aiden Markram
  8. David Miller
  9. Wiaan Mulder
  10. Lungi Ngidi
  11. Anrich Nortje
  12. Dwaine Pretorius
  13. Kagiso Rabada
  14. Tabraiz Shamsi
  15. Rassie van der Dussen


  • Andile Phehlukwayo
  • George Linde
  • Lizaad Williams

What CSA convenor of selectors Victor Mpitsang said

“The national selection panel and I are extremely excited to announce this squad, which we believe is a world-beating squad,” said Cricket South Africa convenor of selectors Victor Mpitsang.

“It has been a busy last few months for the Proteas, and we have had enough time to assess our options and we are pleased with the outcome.

“We are confident that we have a well-balanced and well thought out T20 World Cup squad, with reserve players that are more than capable and up to the job if called up for it.

“The team has blossomed well under the leadership of Temba and we look forward to seeing his return to the international stage once he is fully recovered from injury.”

Proteas’ T20 World Cup record

The Proteas remain in pursuit of a maiden T20 World Cup title. They reached the semi-finals in 2009 and 2014, when the tournament was called the World Twenty20.

The 2021 T20 World Cup will start on 23 October and end on 14 November. The West Indies are the reigning champions.

SA’s 2021 T20 World Cup fixtures

  • 23 October: South Africa v Australia, Abu Dhabi
  • 26 October: South Africa v West Indies, Dubai
  • 30 October: South Africa v qualifying team, Sharjah
  • 2 November: South Africa v qualifying team, Abu Dhabi
  • 6 November: South Africa v England, Sharjah

Also read