2022 Indian Premier League to start on 26 March

Anrich NortjeFile image: Anrich Nortje.

This year’s edition of the Indian Premier League will start on 26 March. The final will be played more than two months later, on 29 May.

The league phase of the 2022 IPL will be played at four venues across two cities – Mumbai and Pune.

? Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp – club cricket news straight to your phone. User comments disabled, so no spam – just relevant news.

IPL 2022 host venues

  1. Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
  2. Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai
  3. DY Patil Sports Academy, Mumbai
  4. Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune

The venues for the play-offs have not been decided yet.

The full tournament schedule will likely be revealed in early March.

The IPL has grown from eight to 10 teams. The Ahmedabad Titans and Lucknow Super Giants have joined.

The Chennai Super Kings are the reigning champions. They beat the Kolkata Knight Riders in the 2021 final. The Mumbai Indians are the most successful franchise in the history of the IPL with five titles.

SA stars in the IPL 2022

Several South Africans will be involved in the 2022 IPL.

Fast bowler Anrich Nortje has been retained by the Delhi Capitals, who have also recruited former Chennai pace ace Lungi Ngidi.

Under-19 batsman Dewald Brevis was bought by the Mumbai Indians.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Quinton de Kock has moved from Mumbai to the Lucknow Super Giants.

The Chennai Super Kings purchased all-rounder Dwaine Pretorius.

Former Proteas captain Faf du Plessis has exchanged Chennai for the Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Batsman Rassie van der Dussen‘s maiden IPL season will be with the Rajasthan Royals.

Fast bowler Kagiso Rabada has moved from Delhi to the Punjab Kings.

All-rounder Marco Jansen was with Mumbai, but has gone to the Sunrisers Hyderabad, who have also signed batsman Aiden Markram.

Batsman David Miller acquired a late contract from the Gujarat Titans.

More cricket news