2018 National Club Championship, day three: match reports and scores in brief

Johnny RiekertFile image: Johnny Riekert.

A wrap of results from day three of the 2018 National Club Championship in Pretoria.

Yorkshire Cricket Club v Crusaders Cricket Club

A super century from opener Johnny Riekert, followed by seamer Tyron Koen’s telling four-for, spearheaded Crusaders Cricket Club to a solid 106-run victory over Yorkshire Cricket Club at the Tuks Cricket Oval on Tuesday.

The Northern Cape outfit were no match for the men from Durban, who won the tournament in 2015 – and face a challenging fixture against Wellington Cricket Club at Irene Country Club on Wednesday.

Scores in brief:

Crusaders Cricket Club 254/7 (50 overs)

  • Johnny Riekert 100; Eathan Bosch 43
  • Themba Maupa 2/25; Zakir Kathrada 2/42

Yorkshire Cricket Club 148/10 (40.3 overs)

  • Aloysius Seleka 36; Kagisho Mohale 27
  • Tyron Koen 4/28; Jason Biddulph 2/36

University of Pretoria Cricket Club (Tuks) v University of Fort Hare Cricket Club

Memorial Park was the scene of the University of Pretoria Cricket Club’s convincing nine-wicket win over the University of Fort Hare Cricket Club on Tuesday, with spinner Neil Brand and opening batsman Tony de Zorzi the destroyers in-chief.

Brand limited the Eastern Cape outfit to an entirely sufficient total, after which de Zorzi – complemented by fellow opener Jiveshan Pillay – tucked into a relatively straightforward pursuit.

Scores in brief:

University of Fort Hare Cricket Club 106/10 (35.3 overs)

  • Mncedisi Malika 21; Jongile Kilani 21
  • Neil Brand 4/14; Ruan de Swardt 3/15

Tuks 107/1 (16.2 overs)

  • Tony de Zorzi 58 not out; Jiveshan Pillay 41
  • Lizo Makhosi 1/7; Simthembile Langa 0/18

North-West University Cricket Club (Pukke) v Wellington Cricket Club

Opening batsman Jean Bredenkamp almost welcomed a second century in three days, as North-West University Cricket Club easily overcame Wellington Cricket Club by 83 runs at Irene Country Club.

Bredenkamp’s near ton was well supported by half-centurion Edrich Lubbe – and followed by prosperous spells from the talented Ruan Haasbroek and Katleho Leokaoke, as the hard-working Curtley Louw’s earlier advances with the ball went in vain.

Scores in brief:

Pukke 252/7 (50 overs)

  • Jean Bredenkamp 95; Edrich Lubbe 52
  • Curtley Louw 4/81; Byron Fortuin 2/43

Wellington Cricket Club 169/10 (43.5 overs)

  • Warren Groeneveld 39; Darren Papier 36 not out
  • Ruan Haasbroek 4/26;┬áKatleho Leokaoke 2/31