Ashwell Prince to captain WP Over-40 squad

Western Province Over-40 cricketWestern Province Over-40.

The Western Province Over-40 squad for next month’s inter-provincial tournament in Johannesburg has been confirmed.

The 15-man squad includes several 2022-23 Western Province Cricket Association premier league and Western Province Cricket Association Veterans league players.

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

Notable inclusions

Durbanville Cricket Club all-rounder Jaco Castle and Cape Town Cricket Club batsman Mark Ritchie, who played 2022-23 WPCA premier league cricket, have been included.

Ritchie and Castle were not allowed to compete in the 2022-23 WPVCA league after playing WPCA premier league cricket in the same season, as per November’s ruling.

Fast bowler Daniel Styer, who represented Cape Town Cricket Club in the WPVCA league and Bergvliet Cricket Club in the WPCA first division D, has been selected.

Seamers Robin van Harte and Ryan Milne, who were key to Milnerton Cricket Club’s success in the 2022-23 WPCA first division A and promotion to the 2023-24 WPCA premier league, have been chosen.

Former Proteas captain Ashwell Prince will captain the team. Former Western Province first-class cricketer Derrin Bassage is also in the squad.

Notable exclusions

Milnerton Cricket Club’s Justin du Toit, Rondebosch Cricket Club’s Keith Ingram and Montrose Cricket Club’s Monier Enos were among the preliminary 20-man squad, but were not picked for the final 15.

Western Province Over-40 squad

  1. Ashwell Prince (captain, Victoria Cricket Club)
  2. Werner Moolman (vice-captain, Brackenfell Cricket Club)
  3. Duane Viljoen (Claremont Cricket Club)
  4. Mark Ritchie (Cape Town Cricket Club)
  5. Ashley Fernandez (Victoria Cricket Club)
  6. Jaco Castle (Durbanville Cricket Club)
  7. Wayne Hendricks (Cape Town Cricket Club)
  8. Sadiek Davids (Ottoman Cricket Club)
  9. Robin van Harte (Milnerton Cricket Club)
  10. Ridiwaan Williams (Ottoman Cricket Club)
  11. Luke Knipe (United Cricket Club)
  12. Derrin Bassage (Pinelands Cricket Club)
  13. Adie Jackson (Montrose Cricket Club)
  14. Daniel Styer (Cape Town Cricket Club)
  15. Ryan Milne (Milnerton Cricket Club)
  • Withdrawn: Kevin Heuvel (Strandfontein Cricket Club)

Over-40 inter-provincial tournament (IPT) background

Wanderers Cricket Club and Old Edwardians Cricket Club will host the inter-provincial tournament, which will feature eight teams:

The tournament is scheduled to start on 8 May and end on 12 May. Matches will be contested over 45 overs per innings.

South Africa will host the Over-40 World Cup in 2024. South Africa hosted the Over-50 World Cup earlier this year.

More Over-40 inter-provincial tournament (IPT) news