Australia win record sixth Cricket World Cup title after Travis Head ton

Travis Head Cricket World Cup finalTravis Head.

Australia beat India by six wickets in Sunday’s Cricket World Cup final at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

Australia bowled out India for 240 all out in 50 overs – and responded with 241 for three in 43.

Opener Travis Head hit a century. His 137 came from 120 deliveries and included 15 fours and four sixes. He was supported by half-centurion Marnus Labuschagne, who hit 58 not out from 110 balls.

This was Head’s second ton of the 2023 Cricket World Cup. He scored 109 against New Zealand in Dharamsala after returning from injury that prevented participation in the first half of the tournament.

India were unbeaten throughout the tournament – nine round-robin fixtures and a semi-final – prior to Sunday’s defeat.

India beat New Zealand in the first semi-final. Australia beat South Africa in the second semi-final.

Australia also won the Cricket World Cup in:

  • 2015;
  • 2007;
  • 2003;
  • 1999; and
  • 1987.

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

2023 Cricket World Cup – top wicket-takers

Indian fast bowler Mohammed Shami took the most wickets at this year’s World Cup. He collected 24 wickets in seven innings.

  1. Mohammed Shami (India): 24 wickets
  2. Adam Zampa (Australia): 23 wickets
  3. Dilshan Madushanka (Sri Lanka): 21 wickets
  4. Jasprit Bumrah (India): 20 wickets
  5. Gerald Coetzee (South Africa): 20 wickets

2023 Cricket World Cup – top run-scorers

Indian batsman Virat Kohli scored the most runs at this year’s World Cup. He hit 765 runs in 11 innings.

  1. Virat Kohli (India): 756 runs
  2. Rohit Sharma (India): 597 runs
  3. Quinton de Kock (South Africa): 594 runs
  4. Rachin Ravindra (New Zealand): 578 runs
  5. Daryl Mitchell (New Zealand): 552 runs

MORE Cricket World Cup news