Basheer Walters seeks ‘exposure and opportunity’ after joining Western Province

File image: Basheer Walters.

Seamer Basheer Walters has been included in the Western Province squad for South Africa’s 2021-22 domestic season.

Walters previously represented Eastern Province and Border in provincial cricket – and the Warriors and Titans at franchise level.

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp – club cricket news straight to your phone. Comments disabled. No spam.

“Having spent 12 seasons playing cricket in the Eastern Cape, it is sad that I have to leave a place that has been part of my career for such a long time,” Walters told the Herald.

“But for me it is about exposure and opportunity and I am really looking forward to that new chapter.”

Western Province have been placed among the top tier of the country’s new domestic structure, which will return to provincial rather than franchise competition later this year.

Western Province squad for 2021-22 season

  • Zubayr Hamza
  • Kyle Verreynne
  • George Linde
  • Tony de Zorzi
  • Nandre Burger
  • Yaseen Vallie
  • Kyle Simmonds
  • Jonathan Bird
  • Hashim Amla
  • Mihlali Mpongwana
  • Tshepo Moreki
  • David Bedingham
  • Aviwe Mgijima
  • Vernon Philander
  • Basheer Walters
  • Wayne Parnell
  • Beuran Hendricks (national contract)

Also read