Cape Peninsula University of Technology Cricket Club not allowed to skip a division

CPUT Cricket ClubSeveral players, including Mthiwekhaya Nabe (left), were honoured at the 2016 CPUT CC awards ceremony.

The Cape Peninsula University of Technology Cricket Club’s bid to sidestep the Western Province Cricket Association first division D en route to first division C has been stifled, ahead of the 2016-17 season.

Elevated from the second division on the back of 13 victories in 16 matches during the 2015-16 season, CPUT Cricket Club had attempted to join the newly-promoted Elsies River Northlink Cricket Club and Macassar Cricket Club in the first division C.

“CPUT wrote to the LLC, requesting to skip the first division D league and be promoted to the first division C league due to the fact that three of their players are part of the Western Province academy squad,” read a statement from the WPCA local leagues committee.

“The members have declined the request and decided that normal promotion and relegation will take place as per the by-laws.”

Two of the three WP academy squad players referenced are seamers Mthiwekhaya Nabe and Myolisi Fumba. The latter will likely join Cape Town Cricket Club at the start of the South African summer.