Cape Premier League to grow by two teams; one from India

File image: Alistair Gray (left), Nabiel Dien (right).

Western Province Cricket Association chief executive officer Nabiel Dien has confirmed the Cape Premier League will expand to eight teams next year.

2020 Cape Premier League

The inaugural CPL concluded on Sunday, when the Cape Vikings beat the Hoeri Kwaggo Bulls by seven wickets in the final at Newlands.

The six-team competition also featured the Knysna Falcons, Atlantic Pirates, Dromerdaris Dragons and District Sixers.

Dien stated the tournament will grow by two teams – and include one from India – for the second edition in 2020.

Dien, too, announced a four-team women’s competition will be introduced alongside – and age-level participation from under-12 to older.

Champion Vikings

Vikings captain Alistair Gray starred in Sunday’s final. Leg-spinner Gray’s bowling figures of seven for 14 are the best in the history of the tournament, which includes Johannesburg’s Lenasia Premier League in Johannesburg and Durban’s Dolphins Premier League editions.

Gray’s hat-trick comprised the removal of trio Byron Wyngard, Justin Dill and Mujahid Isaacs. All three were removed lbw.

All-rounder Gray later struck 38 from 31 deliveries, during a key partnership with half-centurion Zubayr Hamza, to ensure triumph with seven overs to spare.

Individual awards

Gray was named Bowler of the Tournament and Player of the Tournament. The Vikings’ Paul Adams won the Coach of the Tournament award – and the Falcons’ Lenert van Wyk took the Batsman of the Tournament accolade. Vikings batsman Tayo Walburgh was named Young Player of the Tournament.