Central Gauteng Lions club cricket award winners announced

Glen AdamsFile image: Glen Adams.

Delfos Cricket Club’s Glen Adams and the University of Johannesburg Cricket Club’s Juan Landsberg were among the winners at Thursday, 10 May’s 2017-18 Gauteng Lions (formerly Gauteng Cricket Board) awards.

Adams was named Club Cricketer of the Year – B section; and Landsberg secured the Club Cricketer of the Year – A section accolade.

Jeppe Quondam Cricket Club’s Matthew Smit and Delfos Cricket Club’s Jean-Pierre Kok clinched the Batsman of the Year – A section; and Batsman of the Year – B section awards, respectively.

The Bowler of the Year – A section award went to Old Edwardians Cricket Club’s Damien HutchinsonDelfos Cricket Club’s Shea Blaauw welcomed the Bowler of the Year – B section trophy.

Delfos Cricket Club relished the Club of the Year award, while the Fair Play award was given to Glenvista Cricket Club despite other cricket predictions.

“The Central Gauteng Lions awards are always a highlight at the end of a season. We are proud of the achievements of our players and all the administration involved in the success of our teams,” said Central Gauteng Lions president Jack Madiseng.

Central Gauteng Lions chief executive officer Greg Fredericks added: “It has been a great evening – one that not only recognises individual successes, but the results of the hard work by everyone involved in the progress of our organisation. It was also incredibly satisfying to witness the positive buzz around our new, unified look – a sign of great things to come.”

Women’s club cricket award winners

  • Player of the Year: Alysia Rudolph
  • Batsman of the Year: Jene Van Der Walt
  • Bowler of the Year: Nasseha Laher
  • Club of the Year: Jeppe Cricket Club