Change of coach and name for Dragons in Cape Premier League

The Dromedaris Dragons have been renamed the Devil’s Peak Dragons ahead of this year’s Cape Premier League.

The franchise was coached by former Western Province batsman Hassan Pangarker during the inaugural CPL last year. Former Proteas seamer Rory Kleinveldt will be their player-coach this year. The experienced Shukri Conrad is the Dragons’ chief executive officer, according to tournament owner Ziyaad Desai.

Earlier this week, all-rounder George Linde was sold by the Hoeri Kwaggo Bulls to the Devil’s Peak Dragons.

The Dragons paid one million CPL dollars – the tournament’s fictional currency – for Linde. He hadn’t played for the Proteas during last year’s CPL, but has since been capped in Test cricket.

He has also since swapped Durbanville Cricket Club for Brackenfell Cricket Club in the Western Province Cricket Association premier league.

Meanwhile, Cape Town Cricket Club’s Kyle Verreynne and the University of the Western Cape Cricket Club’s Luke Philander have joined the District Sixers.

Verreynne and Philander previously represented the Cape Vikings. The Sixers have purchased the pair for 500,000 CPL dollars.

The player auction for this year’s Cape Premier League will be hosted on Friday, 7 February.

Also read