Christian, Andrianatos named in Western Province squad

Mark AndrionatosFile image: Mark Andrionatos.

University of the Western Cape Cricket Club batsman Givon Christian has been recalled to Western Province’s squad for this week’s CSA Provincial 3-Day Cup fixture against North West at Newlands in Cape Town.

Christian has not played first-class cricket since October 2018, but has earned a recall on the back of a solid stretch of form in the 2018-19 Western Province Cricket Association premier league.

This year has brought the talented right-hander significant scores of 59, 86, 57 and 69 against Rondebosch Cricket Club, Cape Town Cricket Club, Ottoman Cricket Club and Claremont Cricket Club, respectively.

Givon Christian

File image: Givon Christian.

Victoria Cricket Club fast bowler Renaldo Meyer and University of Western Cape Cricket Club spinner Luke Philander have not been included in the squad, which remains without batsman Qaasim Adams as well. Adams is currently serving a suspension for allegedly pointing a gun at Christian last year.

Left-arm seamer Mpilo Njoloza, meanwhile, has returned – and Brackenfell Cricket Club team-mate Mark Andrianatos included. Right-arm seamer Adrianatos is uncapped at first-class level.

Western Province lost last week’s CSA Provincial 3-Day Cup clash with Gauteng at the Wanderers in Johannesburg, despite a hat-trick from Western Province Cricket Club fast bowler Michael Cohen and captain Andre Malan’s second-innings half-century.

Squad: Andre Malan (captain, Durbanville Cricket Club), Matthew Kleinveldt (Milnerton Cricket Club), Jack Newby (University of Cape Town Cricket Club), Isaac Dikgale (Victoria Cricket Club), Neo Mlumbi (Cape Town Cricket Club), Givon Christian (University of the Western Cape Cricket Club), Justin Dill (Bellville Cricket Club), Thando Ntini (Cape Town Cricket Club), Mpilo Njoloza (Brackenfell Cricket Club), Junaid Dawood (University of the Western Cape Cricket Club), Michael Cohen (Western Province Cricket Club), Carlos Koyana (Tygerberg Cricket Club), Mark Andrianatos (Brackenfell Cricket Club).