Claremont Cricket Club win multiple WPCA awards, including Club of the Year

Claremont Cricket Club WPCA awardsClaremont Cricket Club.

Claremont Cricket Club were named Club of the Year at Saturday’s Western Province Cricket Association awards ceremony for the 2022-23 season.

Milnerton Cricket Club, Bergvliet Cricket Club and Durbanville Cricket Club were also among the final contenders for the WPCA Club of the Year award.

Claremont Cricket Club’s first XI won the WPCA premier league and Ama20 Competition premier league. Their veterans XI won the Western Province Veterans Cricket Association league title.

Claremont Cricket Club’s first XI were named the WPCA Team of the Year.

Head coach Allison Johnson shared the Coach of the Year award with Western Province Women’s head coach Claire Terblanche.

WPCA named Claremont Cricket Club’s Alan Dawson Over-50 Veterans Player of the Year.

Claremont Cricket Club’s Benni Hansen won the Western Province Under-16 Player of the Year award.

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

Green Point Cricket Club’s first XI won the Most Sporting Team of the Year award.

Wynberg Cricket Club’s first XI won the Best Fielding Team of the Year award.

“Congratulations to Marcus Oliphant and the entire first team squad from last season,” said Wynberg Cricket Club chairman Donavon Koen.

“You guys deserve all the recognition that was bestowed on you this evening. Fantastic achievement, and yes the Best Fielding Team of the Year from all the club’s affiliated to WPCA.

“All that hard work paid off. Let’s continue to work hard and together to achieve more great things.”

Donavon Koen Wynberg Cricket Club

Donavon Koen

MORE latest WP club cricket news