Tygerberg Cricket Club win Ama20 Competition title

Tygerberg Cricket ClubTygerberg Cricket Club | TBM Photography.

Tygerberg Cricket Club beat Ottoman Cricket Club by one run in the final of the Western Province Cricket Association’s 2021-22 Ama20 Competition first division A at Newlands last week.

Tygerberg Cricket Club posted a final total of 133 for six on the back of opener Clement Abrahams‘ half-century. He struck 59 in 58 deliveries, which included three fours and a six.

Ottoman Cricket Club’s response was limited to 132 for seven. Tygerberg Cricket Club seamer Reeve Cyster claimed figures of three for 18 in four overs. Cyster conceded just three runs and claimed two wickets in the final over of the match.

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

Ama20 Competition first division B, C and D finals

The Ama20 Competition first division B, first division C and first division D finals were played earlier this month.

Edgemead Cricket Club beat Montrose Cricket Club in the first division B final.

Somerset West Cricket Club overcame Wynberg Cricket Club in the first division C final.

In the first division D final, Peninsula Cricket Club beat Hanover Park Cricket Club.

Ama20 competition premier league final

The Ama20 Competition premier league champion was decided last month. Bellville Cricket Club won the premier league final.

Losing finalists Western Province Cricket Club, however, qualified for the T20 Community Cup regional play-off because Bellville Cricket Club did not select a black African cricketer in the XI for enough fixtures and were, effectively, consequently disqualified from competing in the play-off.

Western Province Cricket Club later succeeded in the regional play-off, beating Boland’s Worcestershire United Cricket Club and South Western Districts’ George Cricket Club.

This means Western Province Cricket Club will represent the province at the T20 Community Cup in Pretoria next month.

More club cricket news