Club Cricket SA Player of the Week: Aidan Greenfield

A swashbuckling 176 not out from just 140 deliveries has earned Milnerton Cricket Club’s Aidan Greenfield the latest Club Cricket SA Player of the Week award.

Greenfield’s monumental innings saw the visitors seal a very comfortable 185-run victory over Northerns Goodwood Cricket Club in Saturday, 29 October 2016’s key reserve G league fixture.

The hard-hitting left-hander struck 21 fours and eight sixes during an entertaining 172-minute stay at the crease, spearheading Milnerton Cricket Club to a hefty final score of 355 for three in the 45-over allotment.

Greenfield and fellow centurion Brett Papayanni, who managed 109 from 85 (19 fours, two sixes), shared a hefty 197-run opening partnership.

“I started off well – and found timing immediately. Aidan struggled initially, but since I was scoring freely, I told him not to worry – and that it would come. He hit two fours in one over – and then it just clicked from there. This man has so much potential. I am extremely happy for him. This is his maiden ton in any form of competitive cricket,” captain Papayanni told Club Cricket SA.

Milnerton Cricket Club’s big victory was completed by seamer Brandon Heyne, whose telling figures of five for 35 in nine tight overs ensured Northerns Goodwood Cricket Club were bowled out for an entirely insufficient 170.

Club Cricket SA Player of the Week archives:

24 October 2016: Nathan Swartz (Durbanville Cricket Club)
17 October 2016: Marvin de Kock (Northerns Goodwood Cricket Club)
11 October 2016: James Crowson (Western Province Cricket Club)
7 March 2016: Julian Fortuin (Macassar Cricket Club)
29 February 2016: Derek Mitchell (Western Province Cricket Club)
24 February 2016: Abdul Temoor (Hottentots Holland Cricket Club)
15 February 2016: Muneer Holmes (Ottoman Cricket Club)
9 February 2016: Ashley Botha (Tygerberg Cricket Club)
2 February 2016: David Schierhout (Primrose Cricket Club)
25 January 2016: Dylan Solomon (Avendale Cricket Club)
18 January 2016: Zac Elkin (Green Point Cricket Club)
16 December 2015: Adam Ball (Claremont Cricket Club)
7 December 2015: Givon Christian (United Cricket Club)
29 November 2015: Jonathan Reynders (Milnerton Cricket Club)
24 November 2015: Roshan Khan (Cravenby Cricket Club)
18 November 2015: William Hantam (Cape Town Cricket Club)
9 November 2015: Anwar Rahman (Ottoman Cricket Club)
2 November 2015: Luke Petersen (Montrose Cricket Club)
26 October 2015: Zaid Patel (Wanderers Cricket Club)