Club Cricket SA Player of the Week: Armand Burger

Club Cricket SA Player of the Week

Glenvista Cricket Club’s Armand Burger is the recipient of the latest Club Cricket SA Player of the Week award.

Burger struck an astonishing double-century┬áin 12 March 2016’s Gauteng Cricket Board Saturday five league fixture against Bedfordview Cricket Club.

The swashbuckling right-hander’s 255 featured a whopping 31 sixes and nine fours – and came off a mere 85 deliveries.

“We had won the league with three games to spare, so we only had fun in mind. I came to the crease at around the ninth over and never thought about 200, not even 250,” Burger told Club Cricket SA.

“It was just one of those innings where you saw the ball like a beach ball. It helped that they were over-pitching all the time. It was all about having fun and playing for the team. I may have scored 255, but I owe it to the team.”

The hard-hitting right-hander’s hefty innings contributed to the visitors’ final total of a massive 426 for two in 35 overs – and a near 200-run victory.

“The pitch at Bedfordview Cricket Club was turf, not mat, and the field was by no means small. Armand had scored many quick 50s and 100s and we had always known a double century in a 35-over innings was possible, but Armand is a real soft guy and I don’t think he believed it until this season,” said captain Brett Johnson.

“Armand’s previous highest score at this level was 138. Once he got to 150 and the opposition came under the pump, 200 was a certainty. I am very proud of him.”

Club Cricket SA Player of the Week archives:

7 March 2016: Julian Fortuin (Macassar Cricket Club)
29 February 2016: Derek Mitchell (Western Province Cricket Club)
24 February 2016: Abdul Temoor (Hottentots Holland Cricket Club)
15 February 2016: Muneer Holmes (Ottoman Cricket Club)
9 February 2016: Ashley Botha (Tygerberg Cricket Club)
2 February 2016: David Schierhout (Primrose Cricket Club)
25 January 2016: Dylan Solomon (Avendale Cricket Club)
18 January 2016: Zac Elkin (Green Point Cricket Club)
16 December 2015: Adam Ball (Claremont Cricket Club)
7 December 2015: Givon Christian (United Cricket Club)
29 November 2015: Jonathan Reynders (Milnerton Cricket Club)
24 November 2015: Roshan Khan (Cravenby Cricket Club)
18 November 2015: William Hantam (Cape Town Cricket Club)
9 November 2015: Anwar Rahman (Ottoman Cricket Club)
2 November 2015: Luke Petersen (Montrose Cricket Club)
26 October 2015: Zaid Patel (Wanderers Cricket Club)
19 October 2015: Mark van Heerden (Crusaders Cricket Club)