Club Cricket SA Player of the Week: Byron Boshoff

Byron Boshoff Club Cricket SA Player of the Week

A remarkable century against Bellville Cricket Club has earned Durbanville Cricket Club’s Byron Boshoff the Club Cricket SA Player of the Week award.

Boshoff struck a superb 167, as the hosts assumed the ascendancy over their northern suburbs rivals in Saturday, 21 January 2017’s key Western Province Cricket Association premier league fixture.

The 24-year-old right-hander’s brisk innings spanned a mere 162 deliveries – and featured 16 fours and a hefty seven sixes – against an opposition bowling attack spearheaded by overseas professional Chris Russell.

Boshoff was particularly impressive during a fine 191-run second-wicket partnership alongside the talented Dale Campbell, who eventually fell for a solid 90.

Bellville Cricket Club are currently atop the 10-team WPCA premier league standings, while Boshoff and company occupy fifth position.

Club Cricket SA Player of the Week archives:

16 January 2017: Sameer Sandhi (Wynberg Cricket Club)
9 January 2017: Handre Theron (Bellville Cricket Club)
5 December 2016: Nicholas Scott (Cape Town Cricket Club)
28 November 2016: Virgil Jacobs (Strandfontein Cricket Club)
21 November 2016: Sheraz Ali (Wynberg Cricket Club)
14 November 2016: Michael Cohen (Western Province Cricket Club)
7 November 2016: Gary-Jon Sylvester (Helderberg Cricket Club)
31 October 2016: Aidan Greenfield (Milnerton Cricket Club)
24 October 2016: Nathan Swartz (Durbanville Cricket Club)
17 October 2016: Marvin de Kock (Northerns Goodwood Cricket Club)
11 October 2016: James Crowson (Western Province Cricket Club)
7 March 2016: Julian Fortuin (Macassar Cricket Club)
29 February 2016: Derek Mitchell (Western Province Cricket Club)
24 February 2016: Abdul Temoor (Hottentots Holland Cricket Club)
15 February 2016: Muneer Holmes (Ottoman Cricket Club)
9 February 2016: Ashley Botha (Tygerberg Cricket Club)
2 February 2016: David Schierhout (Primrose Cricket Club)
25 January 2016: Dylan Solomon (Avendale Cricket Club)
18 January 2016: Zac Elkin (Green Point Cricket Club)
16 December 2015: Adam Ball (Claremont Cricket Club)
7 December 2015: Givon Christian (United Cricket Club)
29 November 2015: Jonathan Reynders (Milnerton Cricket Club)
24 November 2015: Roshan Khan (Cravenby Cricket Club)
18 November 2015: William Hantam (Cape Town Cricket Club)
9 November 2015: Anwar Rahman (Ottoman Cricket Club)
2 November 2015: Luke Petersen (Montrose Cricket Club)
26 October 2015: Zaid Patel (Wanderers Cricket Club)