Club Cricket SA Player of the Week: David Schierhout

David SchierhoutFile image: David Schierhout.

Primrose Cricket Club spinner David Schierhout is the proud recipient of the latest Club Cricket SA Player of the Week accolade.

Schierhout recorded superb first-innings figures of seven for 39 in 16.3 overs, as the hosts dismissed Bellville Cricket Club for a substandard total in Saturday, 30 January’ 2016’s important Western Province Cricket Association premier league fixture in Kenilworth, Cape Town.

“I am really happy about this performance. I put in a lot of bowling hours and it is awesome when things click, when you are just in full flow from the start of your run-up to the delivery,” the 28-year-old left-arm spinner told Club Cricket SA.

“I feel the wicket played decently – there was something in the deck for both seam bowlers and spinners. The seven-wicket haul means a lot as it keeps me hungry to aspire to higher goals and also motivates me to beat my best of eight wickets in one innings.

“It also helps me get closer to my ultimate goal of playing first-class cricket.”

Worthwhile¬†mentions, too, go to Blue Bells Cricket Club’s Zaahier Adams and Cape Town Cricket Club’s Darren Rolfe. The hard-hitting Adams struck a fine 105 not out in a key WPCA 3C league match against Bonteheuwel Cricket Club, while fast bowler Rolfe’s haul of five for 11 put Cape Town Cricket Club in a strong position during a significant WPCA premier league game against Durbanville Cricket Club.

Club Cricket SA Player of the Week archives:

25 January 2016: Dylan Solomon (Avendale Cricket Club)
18 January 2016: Zac Elkin (Green Point Cricket Club)
16 December 2015: Adam Ball (Claremont Cricket Club)
7 December 2015: Givon Christian (United Cricket Club)
29 November 2015: Jonathan Reynders (Milnerton Cricket Club)
24 November 2015: Roshan Khan (Cravenby Cricket Club)
18 November 2015: William Hantam (Cape Town Cricket Club)
9 November 2015: Anwar Rahman (Ottoman Cricket Club)
2 November 2015: Luke Petersen (Montrose Cricket Club)
26 October 2015: Zaid Patel (Wanderers Cricket Club)
19 October 2015: Mark van Heerden (Crusaders Cricket Club)