Club Cricket SA Player of the Week: Derek Mitchell

Club Cricket SA Player of the Week: Derek Mitchell

February 2016’s final Club Cricket SA Player of the Week is Western Province Cricket Club’s Derek Mitchell.

Mitchell struck a solid century in 27 February’s Western Province Cricket Association premier league fixture against St Augustine Cricket Club at the Vineyard Oval in Claremont, Cape Town.

Saturday’s superb 110, which spanned 138 deliveries and featured 13 fours and a trio of big sixes, epitomised the fine stretch of form enjoyed by the hard-hitting right-hander this season.

Hosts Western Province Cricket Club are in a very strong position ahead of the second and final day of the key encounter against visitors St Augustine Cricket Club, thanks largely to Mitchell’s telling contribution – and South African fast bowler Dale Steyn’s rare club cricket appearance.

The 28-year-old Mitchell, whose January foray into first-class cricket was hampered by a broken hand sustained on debut for Western Province against Northerns at Newlands, narrowly beat Milnerton Cricket Club’s Craig Copeland to this week’s Club Cricket SA Player of the Week accolade.

Leg-spinner Copeland gathered prolific first-innings figures of seven for 55 – and took another two wickets in the second – during a WPCA first division A match against Ottoman Cricket Club at Theo Marais Park.

Club Cricket SA Player of the Week archives:

24 February 2016: Abdul Temoor (Hottentots Holland Cricket Club)
15 February 2016: Muneer Holmes (Ottoman Cricket Club)
9 February 2016: Ashley Botha (Tygerberg Cricket Club)
2 February 2016: David Schierhout (Primrose Cricket Club)
25 January 2016: Dylan Solomon (Avendale Cricket Club)
18 January 2016: Zac Elkin (Green Point Cricket Club)
16 December 2015: Adam Ball (Claremont Cricket Club)
7 December 2015: Givon Christian (United Cricket Club)
29 November 2015: Jonathan Reynders (Milnerton Cricket Club)
24 November 2015: Roshan Khan (Cravenby Cricket Club)
18 November 2015: William Hantam (Cape Town Cricket Club)
9 November 2015: Anwar Rahman (Ottoman Cricket Club)
2 November 2015: Luke Petersen (Montrose Cricket Club)
26 October 2015: Zaid Patel (Wanderers Cricket Club)
19 October 2015: Mark van Heerden (Crusaders Cricket Club)

Win ticket to watch Proteas vs Aus T20 at Newlands