Club Cricket SA Player of the Week: Michael Cohen

Michael Cohen

A superb five-wicket haul has seen Western Province Cricket Club’s Michael Cohen named the Club Cricket SA Player of the Week.

Western Province Cricket Club won the Western Province Cricket Association premier league last season – and are currently locked in a challenging fixture with 2015-16 runners-up Rondebosch Cricket Club.

Saturday, 12 November 2016, saw Cohen deliver fine figures of five for 15 in 6.1 overs in the hosts’ first innings – and one for four in three in the second. His removal of the talented Grant Edmeades, to end a threatening fourth-wicket partnership, proved particular key.

The in-form left-arm seamer also counted the dangerous Michael Pote and Dylan Penberthy among his victims – and has the visitors well on course for triumph, come day two of this important WPCA premier league showdown.

Club Cricket SA Player of the Week archives:

7 November 2016: Gary-Jon Sylvester (Helderberg Cricket Club)
31 October 2016: Aidan Greenfield (Milnerton Cricket Club)
24 October 2016: Nathan Swartz (Durbanville Cricket Club)
17 October 2016: Marvin de Kock (Northerns Goodwood Cricket Club)
11 October 2016: James Crowson (Western Province Cricket Club)
7 March 2016: Julian Fortuin (Macassar Cricket Club)
29 February 2016: Derek Mitchell (Western Province Cricket Club)
24 February 2016: Abdul Temoor (Hottentots Holland Cricket Club)
15 February 2016: Muneer Holmes (Ottoman Cricket Club)
9 February 2016: Ashley Botha (Tygerberg Cricket Club)
2 February 2016: David Schierhout (Primrose Cricket Club)
25 January 2016: Dylan Solomon (Avendale Cricket Club)
18 January 2016: Zac Elkin (Green Point Cricket Club)
16 December 2015: Adam Ball (Claremont Cricket Club)
7 December 2015: Givon Christian (United Cricket Club)
29 November 2015: Jonathan Reynders (Milnerton Cricket Club)
24 November 2015: Roshan Khan (Cravenby Cricket Club)
18 November 2015: William Hantam (Cape Town Cricket Club)
9 November 2015: Anwar Rahman (Ottoman Cricket Club)
2 November 2015: Luke Petersen (Montrose Cricket Club)
26 October 2015: Zaid Patel (Wanderers Cricket Club)