Club Cricket SA Player of the Week: Nigel Dirks

Club Cricket SA Player of the Week Nigel Dirk

Bellville South Cricket Club’s Nigel Dirks has clinched the latest Club Cricket SA Player of the Week accolade.

The talented left-arm wrist spinner secured telling figures of eight for 28 in the first innings – and a complementary four for 17 in the second – as the hosts completed a comfortable Western Province Cricket Association first division C victory over Langa Cricket Club.

Dirks’ superb match haul of 12 for 45 in 38 overs, which included 18 maidens, drew plenty of praise, including that of Bellville South Cricket Club match secretary Elrich Maart.

“Nigel turns the ball both ways – and is a very good player. His efforts have helped us through the season. We are currently fourth on the log, with one more game left to play. If some results go our way, we could be in line for promotion,” Maart told Club Cricket SA.

“He has a wonderful cricket brain – and is always ready to take the ball when he is called upon. It’s astounding, the amount of wickets he is taking. I would say he is the best in this league. We would love to see him play at a higher level.”

Club Cricket SA Player of the Week archives:

6 March 2017: Michal Lord (Cape Town Cricket Club)
27 February 2017: Jody Lawrence (University of the Western Cape Cricket Club)
20 February 2017: Warrick Rhoda (Victoria Cricket Club)
13 February 2017: Michael Pote (Rondebosch Cricket Club)
7 February 2017: Warren Ekstraal (St Augustine Cricket Club)
30 January 2017: Zac Elkin (Green Point Cricket Club)
23 January 2017: Byron Boshoff (Durbanville Cricket Club)
16 January 2017: Sameer Sandhi (Wynberg Cricket Club)
9 January 2017: Handre Theron (Bellville Cricket Club)
5 December 2016: Nicholas Scott (Cape Town Cricket Club)
28 November 2016: Virgil Jacobs (Strandfontein Cricket Club)
21 November 2016: Sheraz Ali (Wynberg Cricket Club)
14 November 2016: Michael Cohen (Western Province Cricket Club)
7 November 2016: Gary-Jon Sylvester (Helderberg Cricket Club)
31 October 2016: Aidan Greenfield (Milnerton Cricket Club)
24 October 2016: Nathan Swartz (Durbanville Cricket Club)
17 October 2016: Marvin de Kock (Northerns Goodwood Cricket Club)
11 October 2016: James Crowson (Western Province Cricket Club)
7 March 2016: Julian Fortuin (Macassar Cricket Club)
29 February 2016: Derek Mitchell (Western Province Cricket Club)
24 February 2016: Abdul Temoor (Hottentots Holland Cricket Club)
15 February 2016: Muneer Holmes (Ottoman Cricket Club)
9 February 2016: Ashley Botha (Tygerberg Cricket Club)
2 February 2016: David Schierhout (Primrose Cricket Club)
25 January 2016: Dylan Solomon (Avendale Cricket Club)
18 January 2016: Zac Elkin (Green Point Cricket Club)
16 December 2015: Adam Ball (Claremont Cricket Club)
7 December 2015: Givon Christian (United Cricket Club)
29 November 2015: Jonathan Reynders (Milnerton Cricket Club)
24 November 2015: Roshan Khan (Cravenby Cricket Club)
18 November 2015: William Hantam (Cape Town Cricket Club)
9 November 2015: Anwar Rahman (Ottoman Cricket Club)
2 November 2015: Luke Petersen (Montrose Cricket Club)
26 October 2015: Zaid Patel (Wanderers Cricket Club)