Club Cricket SA Player of the Week: Sheraz Ali

Club Cricket SA Player of the Week

Wynberg Cricket Club’s Sheraz Ali has been named the Club Cricket SA Player of the Week on the back of a superb all-round performance on Saturday, 19 November 2016.

Ali scored a solid century – and clinched two key wickets – as Wynberg Cricket Club sealed a comfortable triumph over Peninsula Cricket Club in a key Western Province Cricket Club third division A fixture.

The talented right-hander’s performance with the bat was particularly impressive, affording Wynberg Cricket Club a fine recovery from 30 for five to 222 all out in their allotted 35 overs.

Ali top-scored with 101, which included eight fours and five sixes, and shared a vital 150-run partnership alongside half-centurion Basit Razak.

His contribution with the ball later brought a telling brace, as Peninsula Cricket Club’s pursuit fell severely short.

Ali’s closest competitor for this week’s accolade was Western Province Cricket Club’s Daniel Moriarty. The left-arm spin bowler clinched outstanding second-innings figures of six for three in 8.4 overs, including seven maidens, as Rondebosch Cricket Club slumped to a heavy loss in the WPCA premier league.

Club Cricket SA Player of the Week archives:

14 November 2016: Michael Cohen (Western Province Cricket Club)
7 November 2016: Gary-Jon Sylvester (Helderberg Cricket Club)
31 October 2016: Aidan Greenfield (Milnerton Cricket Club)
24 October 2016: Nathan Swartz (Durbanville Cricket Club)
17 October 2016: Marvin de Kock (Northerns Goodwood Cricket Club)
11 October 2016: James Crowson (Western Province Cricket Club)
7 March 2016: Julian Fortuin (Macassar Cricket Club)
29 February 2016: Derek Mitchell (Western Province Cricket Club)
24 February 2016: Abdul Temoor (Hottentots Holland Cricket Club)
15 February 2016: Muneer Holmes (Ottoman Cricket Club)
9 February 2016: Ashley Botha (Tygerberg Cricket Club)
2 February 2016: David Schierhout (Primrose Cricket Club)
25 January 2016: Dylan Solomon (Avendale Cricket Club)
18 January 2016: Zac Elkin (Green Point Cricket Club)
16 December 2015: Adam Ball (Claremont Cricket Club)
7 December 2015: Givon Christian (United Cricket Club)
29 November 2015: Jonathan Reynders (Milnerton Cricket Club)
24 November 2015: Roshan Khan (Cravenby Cricket Club)
18 November 2015: William Hantam (Cape Town Cricket Club)
9 November 2015: Anwar Rahman (Ottoman Cricket Club)
2 November 2015: Luke Petersen (Montrose Cricket Club)
26 October 2015: Zaid Patel (Wanderers Cricket Club)