Club Cricket SA Player of the Week: Virgil Jacobs

Strandfontein Cricket Club’s Virgil Jacobs has been named November 2016’s final Club Cricket SA Player of the Week.

Jacobs scored a remarkable double-century, as the hosts eased to victory in Saturday, 26 November’s key Western Province Cricket Association reserve G league limited-overs fixture against Cravenby Cricket Club.

The hard-hitting right-hander’s 226 not out required a mere 137 deliveries – and featured two dozen fours and a resounding 11 sixes.

The 39-year-old Jacobs shared important partnerships with half-centurions Sean Ruiters and Adrian George, which carried Strandfontein Cricket Club to a hefty final total of 434 for five in the allotted 45 overs. Cravenby Cricket Club’s reply, later, proved severely insufficient.

“Virgil scored his runs with proper cricket strokes, ultimately smashing the ball to all areas of the field. He is a consistent performer, always playing with impressive flair. He has the batting style of Brian Lara, but right-handed,” team manager Huey Jacobs told Club Cricket SA.

The former Victoria Cricket Club and Seacrest Cricket Club batsman’s feat weighed in as Strandfontein Cricket Club’s highest ever score.

Club Cricket SA Player of the Week archives:

21 November 2016: Sheraz Ali (Wynberg Cricket Club)
14 November 2016: Michael Cohen (Western Province Cricket Club)
7 November 2016: Gary-Jon Sylvester (Helderberg Cricket Club)
31 October 2016: Aidan Greenfield (Milnerton Cricket Club)
24 October 2016: Nathan Swartz (Durbanville Cricket Club)
17 October 2016: Marvin de Kock (Northerns Goodwood Cricket Club)
11 October 2016: James Crowson (Western Province Cricket Club)
7 March 2016: Julian Fortuin (Macassar Cricket Club)
29 February 2016: Derek Mitchell (Western Province Cricket Club)
24 February 2016: Abdul Temoor (Hottentots Holland Cricket Club)
15 February 2016: Muneer Holmes (Ottoman Cricket Club)
9 February 2016: Ashley Botha (Tygerberg Cricket Club)
2 February 2016: David Schierhout (Primrose Cricket Club)
25 January 2016: Dylan Solomon (Avendale Cricket Club)
18 January 2016: Zac Elkin (Green Point Cricket Club)
16 December 2015: Adam Ball (Claremont Cricket Club)
7 December 2015: Givon Christian (United Cricket Club)
29 November 2015: Jonathan Reynders (Milnerton Cricket Club)
24 November 2015: Roshan Khan (Cravenby Cricket Club)
18 November 2015: William Hantam (Cape Town Cricket Club)
9 November 2015: Anwar Rahman (Ottoman Cricket Club)
2 November 2015: Luke Petersen (Montrose Cricket Club)
26 October 2015: Zaid Patel (Wanderers Cricket Club)