Club Cricket SA Player of the Week: Warren Ekstraal

Club Cricket SA Player of the Week Warren Ekstraal

February 2017’s opening Club Cricket SA Player of the Week accolade has been awarded to St Augustine Cricket Club’s Warren Ekstraal.

Ekstraal clinched fine first-innings figures of five for 55 in 23.overs during – and later compiled a commanding half-century – during a key 2016-17 Western Province Cricket Association premier league fixture against Western Province Cricket Club.

The leg-spinner’s five-wicket haul included the important dismissals of the talented James Crowson and Gavin Kaplan, while his 52 featured four boundaries and spanned a patient 94 deliveries.

His telling all-round performance was not enough to afford the hosts the advantage over the reigning champions, but left them in a considerably stronger position than last season’s WPCA premier league match, when Proteas fast bowler Dale Steyn made a rare appearance for Western Province Cricket Club.

St Augustine Cricket Club narrowly avoided relegation to the first division A during a disappointing 2015-16 campaign – and currently occupy ninth position in the 10-team premier league standings.

Club Cricket SA Player of the Week archives:

30 January 2017: Zac Elkin (Green Point Cricket Club)
23 January 2017: Byron Boshoff (Durbanville Cricket Club)
16 January 2017: Sameer Sandhi (Wynberg Cricket Club)
9 January 2017: Handre Theron (Bellville Cricket Club)
5 December 2016: Nicholas Scott (Cape Town Cricket Club)
28 November 2016: Virgil Jacobs (Strandfontein Cricket Club)
21 November 2016: Sheraz Ali (Wynberg Cricket Club)
14 November 2016: Michael Cohen (Western Province Cricket Club)
7 November 2016: Gary-Jon Sylvester (Helderberg Cricket Club)
31 October 2016: Aidan Greenfield (Milnerton Cricket Club)
24 October 2016: Nathan Swartz (Durbanville Cricket Club)
17 October 2016: Marvin de Kock (Northerns Goodwood Cricket Club)
11 October 2016: James Crowson (Western Province Cricket Club)
7 March 2016: Julian Fortuin (Macassar Cricket Club)
29 February 2016: Derek Mitchell (Western Province Cricket Club)
24 February 2016: Abdul Temoor (Hottentots Holland Cricket Club)
15 February 2016: Muneer Holmes (Ottoman Cricket Club)
9 February 2016: Ashley Botha (Tygerberg Cricket Club)
2 February 2016: David Schierhout (Primrose Cricket Club)
25 January 2016: Dylan Solomon (Avendale Cricket Club)
18 January 2016: Zac Elkin (Green Point Cricket Club)
16 December 2015: Adam Ball (Claremont Cricket Club)
7 December 2015: Givon Christian (United Cricket Club)
29 November 2015: Jonathan Reynders (Milnerton Cricket Club)
24 November 2015: Roshan Khan (Cravenby Cricket Club)
18 November 2015: William Hantam (Cape Town Cricket Club)
9 November 2015: Anwar Rahman (Ottoman Cricket Club)
2 November 2015: Luke Petersen (Montrose Cricket Club)
26 October 2015: Zaid Patel (Wanderers Cricket Club)