Club Cricket SA Player the Week: Gary-Jon Sylvester

Gary-Jon Sylvester

Helderberg Cricket Club’s Gary-Jon Sylvester is the November 2016’s first Club Cricket SA Player of the Week.

Sylvester scored a superb century in the visitors’ key Western Province Cricket Association first division B victory over Pinelands Cricket Club on Saturday, 5 November.

Successfully chasing a staunch 299-run target, Helderberg Cricket Club relied heavily on captain Sylvester, who top-scored with 111 – and shared particularly important partnerships with fellow opener Larry Morkel and the talented Owen Thomas.

“I knew there was plenty of runs in the wicket. I just had to give myself a chance to get in and, thereafter, it would be come quite easy to bat. That’s exactly what happened. We played confidently and positively, as instructed,” the 27-year-old Sylvester told Club Cricket SA.

The left-hander’s solid vigil featured a dozen boundaries – and buoyed Helderberg Cricket Club ahead of 12 and 19 November’s vital WPCA first division B showdown with Somerset West Cricket Club.

Club Cricket SA Player of the Week archives:

31 October 2016: Aidan Greenfield (Milnerton Cricket Club)
24 October 2016: Nathan Swartz (Durbanville Cricket Club)
17 October 2016: Marvin de Kock (Northerns Goodwood Cricket Club)
11 October 2016: James Crowson (Western Province Cricket Club)
7 March 2016: Julian Fortuin (Macassar Cricket Club)
29 February 2016: Derek Mitchell (Western Province Cricket Club)
24 February 2016: Abdul Temoor (Hottentots Holland Cricket Club)
15 February 2016: Muneer Holmes (Ottoman Cricket Club)
9 February 2016: Ashley Botha (Tygerberg Cricket Club)
2 February 2016: David Schierhout (Primrose Cricket Club)
25 January 2016: Dylan Solomon (Avendale Cricket Club)
18 January 2016: Zac Elkin (Green Point Cricket Club)
16 December 2015: Adam Ball (Claremont Cricket Club)
7 December 2015: Givon Christian (United Cricket Club)
29 November 2015: Jonathan Reynders (Milnerton Cricket Club)
24 November 2015: Roshan Khan (Cravenby Cricket Club)
18 November 2015: William Hantam (Cape Town Cricket Club)
9 November 2015: Anwar Rahman (Ottoman Cricket Club)
2 November 2015: Luke Petersen (Montrose Cricket Club)
26 October 2015: Zaid Patel (Wanderers Cricket Club)