Club Cricket SA’s Team of the Season: 2017-18 WPCA premier league

Robert van der RossFile image: Robert van der Ross.

Club Cricket SA names their best XI of the season, after the early end of the 2017-18 Western Province Cricket first premier league due to the ongoing drought in Cape Town.

  • The hypothetical team obviously required a captain and wicketkeeper – and two or more players of colour, including a black African. Former and debutant first-class cricketers – and university players – were also considered.
  • Rondebosch Cricket Club’s Michael Pote, Bellville Cricket Club’s Dewald Botha, Milnerton Cricket Club’s Sharn Gomes, Cape Town Cricket Club’s Bradley Petersen and others were in contention, but ultimately didn’t gain selection.

1. Kuda Samunderu (Durbanville Cricket Club, captain)
A superb all-round performance from the Durbanville Cricket Club skipper featured two dozen wickets and more than 350 runs. He also led them to Multiply T20 Community Cup glory. See Samunderu’s stats.

2. Taariq Behardien (Ottoman Cricket Club)
Batsman Rushdie Jappie’s move to Rylands Cricket Club in the first division B left the onus on Behardien to deliver plenty of runs – and the new captain dutifully obliged. See Behardien’s stats.

3. Robert van der Ross (Victoria Cricket Club)
Arguably the best all-rounder of the 2017-18 premier league, van der Ross was the second-highest run-scorer and equal sixth-highest wicket-taker. See van der Ross’ stats.

4. Lenert van Wyk (Bellville Cricket Club)
Named Club Cricket SA Player of the Week twice in one season, van Wyk was the leading run-scorer by almost 200 more than van der Ross – and took some handy wickets, too. See van Wyk’s stats.

5. Alistair Gray (Rondebosch Cricket Club)
The former Cape Cobras cricketer averaged nearly 40 overs per match, which yielded 47 wickets – the most by anyone. He also struck 404 runs to finish in fourth position after van Wyk, van der Ross and Behardien. See Gray’s stats.

6. Kyle Schreuder (Western Province Cricket Club)
With Western Province Cricket Club’s premier league XI in a state of transition, captain Derek Mitchell short on runs, Schreuder’s 370-odd proved particularly important. See Schreuder’s stats.

7. Handre Theron (Bellville Cricket Club, wicketkeeper)
Theron faced stiff competition from Rondebosch Cricket Club’s Bradley Barnes for the wicketkeeper-batsman berth in this hypothetical XI.

8. Kyle Williamson (Claremont Cricket Club)
Often heralded as the best leg-spinner in the premier league, offered plenty of rip and bounce regardless of whether pitches were conducive or not – and found some helpful lower-order runs. See Williamson’s stats.

9. Siya Simetu (University of the Western Cape Cricket Club)
Having moved from Ottoman Cricket Club and unable to warrant a berth in the South Western Districts or Cape Cobras XI, Simetu was a pivotal player at his new club throughout. See Simetu’s stats.

10. Rory Overmeyer (Victoria Cricket Club)
An important part of Victoria Cricket Club’s bid to avoid relegation to the first division A again, Overmeyer opened the bowling with much success. See Overmeyer’s stats.

11. Joshua Savage (Ottoman Cricket Club)
One of several players to leave Primrose Cricket Club after their relegation at the end of the 2016-17 season, Savage stayed in the premier league and was the highest wicket-taker among the seamers. See Savage’s stats.