Club Cricket SA’s Team Of The Season: 2018-19 WPCA premier league

File image: Marvin Williams.

Club Cricket SA name their best XI of the season, after the completion of the 2018-19 Western Province Cricket premier league.

  • The hypothetical team obviously required a captain and wicketkeeper – and two or more players of colour, including a black African. Former and debutant first-class cricketers – and university players – were also considered.
  • Durbanville Cricket Club’s Nathan Swartz, Claremont Cricket Club’s Kyle Williamson, Cape Town Cricket Club’s Clint Botha, Western Province Cricket Club’s Ryan Klein and several others were in contention for this XI, but ultimately weren’t selected.

1. Brad Barnes (Rondebosch Cricket Club, wicketkeeper)

  • One of three Rondebosch Cricket Club batsmen in this XI’s top seven, Barnes was the leading run-scorer in this season’s competition. See Barnes’ stats.

2. Gavin Kaplan (Western Province Cricket Club)

  • Western Province Cricket Club needed someone to step up with relatively big runs in the absence of former skipper Derek Mitchell this season – and Kaplan duly obliged. See Kaplan’s stats.

3. Grant Edmeades (Rondebosch Cricket Club)

  • Edmeades capitalised alongside team-mates Barnes and Gray to average more than 40 – and managed to convert one of four half-centuries to a ton. See Edmeades’ stats.

4. Lenert van Wyk (Bellville Cricket Club)

  • Van Wyk’s appearances were reasonably infrequent this season. He still finished among the competition’s top 10 run-scorers, though, but had substantially fewer innings than the others. See van Wyk’s stats.

5. Jean Marais (Durbanville Cricket Club)

  • Marais managed to keep Durbanville Cricket Club team-mate Byron Boshoff out of this XI on the back of a significantly higher average. See Marais’ stats.

Also read – Club Cricket SA’s Team Of The Season: 2018-19 WPCA first division A

6. Kyle Schreuder (Western Province Cricket Club, captain)

  • The skipper of this XI – and a young Western Province Cricket Club XI in transition – didn’t neglect an important role with the bat – and took some key wickets. See Schreuder’s stats.

7. Alistair Gray (Rondebosch Cricket Club)

  • Gray kept fellow leg-spinner Williamson out of this XI after ending among the top 10 run-scorers – and five highest wicket-takers. He is one of three survivors from the 2017-18 Team of the Season. See Gray’s stats.

8. Brendan Young (Cape Town Cricket Club)

  • Young was the 2018-19 premier league’s leading wicket-taker – and bowled a particularly devastating spell to remove Cape Cobras trio Pieter Malan, Janneman Malan and George Linde against Durbanville Cricket Club. See Young’s stats.

9. Mpilo Njoloza (Brackenfell Cricket Club)

  • In and out of the Brackenfell Cricket Club XI due to Western Province provincial commitments, the left-arm seamer performed well when opportunity allowed.

10. Marvin Williams (Claremont Cricket Club)

  • Williams learnt a lot from Claremont Cricket Club’s overseas recruit Darren Stevens – and was the competition’s joint third-highest wicket-taker. See Williams’ stats.

11. Daniel Childs (Bellville Cricket Club)

  • Second only to Young among the leading wicket-takers, Childs was instrumental in Bellville Cricket Club’s ability to end in second position. See Childs’ stats.

Be the first to comment on "Club Cricket SA’s Team Of The Season: 2018-19 WPCA premier league"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.