Club Cricket SA’s Team of the Season: 2022-23 WPCA FIRST DIVISION A

Tertius RaubenheimerTertius Raubenheimer. ©M. de Lange Photography

An independent panel selected Club Cricket SA’s Team of the Season for the 2022-23 Western Province Cricket Association first division A.

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

1. Qaasim Salie (captain, Primrose Cricket Club)

The Primrose Cricket Club captain was the leading run-scorer in the 2022-23 WPCA first division A. He captained Primrose Cricket Club back into the premier league, subject to WPCA ratification. See Salie’s stats.

2. Daryn-Lee Dorman (Northerns Goodwood Cricket Club)

Dorman’s strike-rate of 130 was the highest among the 2022-23 WPCA first division A’s top 20 run-scorers. He also hit the most sixes – 23. See Dorman’s stats.

3. Tertius Raubenheimer (Northerns Goodwood Cricket Club)

The Northerns Goodwood Cricket Club captain’s 141 not out against Pinelands Cricket Club was the highest score of the 2022-23 WPCA first division A season. See Raubenheimer’s stats.

4. Sohail Mahmoud (Primrose Cricket Club)

The former KwaZulu-Natal first-class cricketer’s decision to leave Cape Town Cricket Club for Primrose Cricket Club yielded two WPCA first division A centuries. See Mahmoud’s stats.

5. Morne Pentz (Northerns Goodwood Cricket Club)

Pentz scored the second-most runs and was the joint fifth-highest wicket-taker in the 2022-23 WPCA first division A. He will likely be pursued by premier league clubs again. See Pentz’s stats.

Morne Pentz

Morne Pentz. ©M. de Lange Photography

6. Justin Gilliland (wicketkeeper, Strandfontein Cricket Club,)

Gilliland is among the leading wicketkeeper-batsmen in the WPCA first division A. He struck a century against Tygerberg Cricket Club this season. See Gilliland’s stats.

7. Reeve Cyster (Tygerberg Cricket Club)

Cyster took fewer wickets than fellow seamer Diego du Plessis of Victoria Cricket Club, but had a stronger average and economy rate. See Cyster’s stats.

8. Malcolm Cloete (Milnerton Cricket Club)

Cloete took the most wickets among seamers – and the second-most overall – in the 2022-23 WPCA first division A. See Cloete’s stats.

Malcolm Cloete

Malcolm Cloete.

9. Keegan Fortune (Milnerton Cricket Club)

Fortune was key to Milnerton Cricket Club’s title-winning WPCA first division A campaign and return to the premier league. See Fortune’s stats.

10. David Schierhout (Primrose Cricket Club)

Schierhout took the most wickets in the 2022-23 WPCA first division A. His tally of 52 wickets included a six-for against Avendale Cricket Club. See Schierhout’s stats.

11. Taswill Carolus (Avendale Cricket Club)

Carolus was the joint third-highest wicket-taker in the 2022-23 WPCA first division A. He took a six-for against Northerns Goodwood Cricket Club. See Carolus’ stats.

12th man: Rhys Willmore (Pinelands Cricket Club)

Willmore would be selected for this XI if a seaming all-rounder was preferred ahead of a spinner or specialist batsman.

Close, but no

Ryan Milne, Diego du Plessis, Waseem Salie, Justin Pringle, Kyle Peters.

2022-23 WPCA first division A Team of the Season and batting order

  1. Qaasim Salie (captain)
  2. Daryn-Lee Dorman
  3. Tertius Raubenheimer (vice-captain)
  4. Sohail Mahmoud
  5. Morne Pentz
  6. Justin Gilliland (wicketkeeper)
  7. Reeve Cyster
  8. Malcolm Cloete
  9. Keegan Fortune
  10. David Schierhout
  11. Taswill Carolus

MORE WP club cricket news