CSA confirm no 2022 National Club Championship

Durbanville Cricket Club.Durbanville Cricket Club won the 2019 National Club Championship.

Cricket South Africa senior cricket services manager Johan Weyers has reiterated the National Club Championship will not be played for a third successive season.

The best premier league clubs traditionally play the National Club Championship in Pretoria in April.

The tournament, however, has not happened since 2019.

The 2021 and 2020 editions were cancelled amid the coronavirus pandemic.

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

“Covid-19 obviously had an impact on a lot of clubs around the country. Many of the member unions struggled to keep their premier leagues up and running,” Weyers told Club Cricket SA his week.

“We were able to host the T20 Community Cup this season, but it was decided a while back that, to be fair to everyone, the National Club Championship would only be hosted again for the 2022-23 season. Clubs will be better prepared for it then.”

Durbanville Cricket Club are the reigning champions. They won the 2019 National Club Championship.

If the 2022 National Club Championship was played, Durbanville Cricket Club would have represented Western Province again. The won the 2021-22 Western Province Cricket Association premier league.

Last 10 National Club Championship winners

  • 2010: University of the Free State Cricket Club
  • 2011: Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University Cricket Club
  • 2012: University of Pretoria Cricket Club
  • 2013: University of Pretoria Cricket Club
  • 2014: University of Pretoria Cricket Club
  • 2015: Crusaders Cricket Club
  • 2016: North-West University Cricket Club
  • 2017: University of Pretoria Cricket Club
  • 2018: University of Pretoria Cricket Club
  • 2019: Durbanville Cricket Club

1987-2022: National Club Championship title winners

2022 T20 Community Cup

There was a T20 Community Cup this year. Old Edwardians Cricket Club of Gauteng won the tournament. Western Province Cricket Club finished in second position.

“Congratulations to Old Edwardians on being crowned the 2021-22 champions. This is a huge achievement as this makes them the number one community-based cricket club in the country,” said Cricket South Africa senior cricket manager Johan Weyers.

“Well done to all the participating teams on winning in their respective regions and making it to the final stage of the competition – the CSA T20 Community Cup.”

More SA club cricket news