Daniel Smith and Jordan Woolf named in WP squad

File image: Daniel Smith.File image: Daniel Smith.

The uncapped Daniel Smith and Jordan Woolf have been included in Western Province’s squad for this month’s T20 Knockout tournament.

The squad also includes spinner Yves Kamanzi.

🔔 Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp – club cricket news straight to your phone. User comments disabled, so no spam – just relevant news.

Batsmen David Bedingham and Yaseen Vallie have not been included.

David is completing his season with Durham in the County Championship and will only be available in October,” read a statement from Western Province.

Yaseen is the only player to miss out due to an injury picked up in a recent training session. He will be available for the play-offs should the team progress from the pool stages.”

WP squad for 2021 T20 Knockout tournament

  1. Wayne Parnell (captain)
  2. Kyle Verreynne (vice-captain)
  3. Aviwe Mgijima
  4. Basheer Walters
  5. Beuran Hendricks
  6. Daniel Smith
  7. Jonathan Bird
  8. Jordan Woolf
  9. Kyle Simmonds
  10. Mihlali Mpongwana
  11. Nandre Burger
  12. Tony de Zorzi
  13. Tshepo Moreki
  14. Yves Kamanzi
  15. Zubayr Hamza

What WP interim head coach Faiek Davids said

Western Province have been pooled with the Northern Cape, Gauteng and South Western Districts for the new tournament. The pool matches will be played in Kimberley from 24 to 26 September.

“It’s an exciting squad, one which I’m confident will wear the Western Province badge with pride and give it their all out there as we go in search of the first silverware of the season,” said Davids.

“We’ve always prided ourselves on our pipeline here at WP and the likes of Daniel, Jordan and Yves begin their journey to experiencing the rigours of professional cricket.

“We have the right guys in place to guide them in this squad to allow them to express their respective natural talent.”

Also read

Be the first to comment on "Daniel Smith and Jordan Woolf named in WP squad"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.