David Bedingham, Dane Piedt, Mihlali Mpongwana in SA A squad

David Bedingham cricketDavid Bedingham.

Western Province batsman David Bedingham and all-rounder Mihlali Mpongwana have been included in South Africa A’s squad for this year’s series against West Indies A.

Titans all-rounder Neil Brand will captain South Africa A.

Test cricketers Dane Paterson, Khaya Zondo, Hardus Viljoen, Keegan Petersen, Tony de Zorzi, Zubayr Hamza and Duanne Olivier have been included, too.

Proteas spinner Dane Piedt, who recently returned to South African domestic cricket after a stint in the United States of America, has also been selected.

“We’ve selected a blend of experienced campaigners and promising talents for the upcoming South Africa A tour against West Indies A,” said Test and South Africa A coach Shukri Conrad.

“This tour holds immense significance as it will afford players the opportunity to demonstrate their capabilities as we prepare for the international season ahead and build depth within our red-ball pipeline.

“The squad was selected with the upcoming two-match Test series against New Zealand in mind and features players who boast international experience and some that have garnered excellent performances domestically over the last couple of seasons.

“Neil will captain the side as he possesses that toughness and resilience that we are always after. He has a lot to offer apart from being an opening batter and we’re excited to show what he’s about at this level.”

South Africa A and West Indies A will contest three four-day fixtures across November and December 2023.

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

South Africa A squad

  1. Neil Brand (Titans, captain)
  2. David Bedingham (Western Province)
  3. Ruan de Swardt (North West)
  4. Tony de Zorzi (Western Province)
  5. Clyde Fortuin (Boland)
  6. Zubayr Hamza (Lions)
  7. Tshepo Moreki (Lions)
  8. Mihlali Mpongwana (Western Province)
  9. Duanne Olivier (Lions)
  10. Dane Paterson (Western Province)
  11. Keegan Petersen (Boland)
  12. Dane Piedt (Knights)
  13. Raynard van Tonder (North West)
  14. Hardus Viljoen (Boland)
  15. Khaya Zondo (Dolphins)

Series schedule

  1. First match: 21 to 24 November, Willowmoore Park, Benoni
  2. Second match: 28 November to 1 December: Buffalo Park, East London
  3. Third match: 5 to 8 December, Mangaung Oval, Bloemfontein

MORE latest SA cricket news