Tashwin Lukas and other WPCA premier league stars in India for KBN Champions Trophy

Tashwin LukasTashwin Lukas.

Durbanville Cricket Club’s Tashwin Lukas, Claremont Cricket Club’s Matthew de Villiers, Rondebosch Cricket Club’s Marco Wyngard and other Western Province Cricket Association premier league cricketers have travelled to India to play in the KBN Champions Trophy.

Rylands Cricket Club’s Abdallah Bayoumy is also at the KBN Champions Trophy in the Indian state of Kalaburagi (formerly Gulbarga), Hyderabad.

The KBN Champions Trophy in India is based on the Cape Premier League in Cape Town, South Africa.

? Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

De Villiers and Wyngard are playing for the Aiwan-E-Shahi Royals and Gunj Gladiators, respectively. Lukas and Bayoumy are with the Station Eagles and Rauza Stars, respectively.

Blue Bells Cricket Club’s Ziyaad Sablay is also at the tournament. He is in the Market Super Kings’ squad.

Sablay hit 18 not out and Lukas took one wicket in the Market Super Kings’ win over the Station Eagles on Tuesday.

Other South Africans at the 2023 KBN Champions Trophy include Philip Van Wyngaardt.

KBN Champions Trophy teams

  1. Sangthrashwadi Strikers
  2. Market Super Kings
  3. RR Challengers
  4. Gunj Gladiators
  5. Mominpura Warriors
  6. Rauza Stars
  7. Station Eagles
  8. Aiwan-E-Shahi Royals

More SA cricket news