Dewald Brevis and Mihlali Mpongwana exit CSA Academy, African trio join

Dewald Brevis cricketDewald Brevis.

Western Province all-rounder Mihlali Mpongwana and Titans batsman Dewald Brevis have exited Cricket South Africa’s Academy squad for 2023.

Mpongwana and Brevis were named among the original intake announced in March 2023, but not this week’s revised squad.

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

“These players were taken off the revised list of the players who attended the camp from the start of the month for various reasons, including SA A involvement, studies and injuries,” according to CSA.

Mpongwana was Western Province’s only representative in the men’s academy squad. Brevis is currently with South Africa A in Sri Lanka.

Meanwhile, Nigeria’s Adbulmumuni Taiwo Mohammed, Uganda’s Cosmas Kyewuta and Tanzania’s Mohamed Omary Kitunda have been added to the CSA Academy squad.

“As part of an exchange agreement between CSA and International Cricket Council Africa, the South African men’s academy players were joined by youngsters from Nigeria, Uganda and Tanzania,” read a statement from CSA.

“The players will be put through rigorous skills, tactical, physical and medical assessments to provide holistic and individualised development in line with the expectations of international cricket.”

Updated CSA Academy squad

  1. Liam Alder
  2. Matthew Boast
  3. Okuhle Cele
  4. Michael Copeland
  5. Jordan Hermann
  6. Duan Jansen
  7. Valentine Kitime
  8. Andile Mokgakane
  9. Siya Plaatjie
  10. Joshua Richards
  11. Caleb Seleka
  12. Andile Simelane
  13. Musa Twala
  14. Mitchell van Buuren
  15. Nealan van Heerden
  16. George van Heerden
  17. Adbulmumuni Taiwo Mohammed
  18. Cosmas Kyewuta
  19. Mohamed Omary Kitunda

MORE SA cricket news