District Sixers name 6 players retained for 2023 CPL

Wesley Bedja CPLWesley Bedja.

The District Sixers have revealed the players retained for this year’s edition of the Cape Premier League.

Western Province Cricket Club duo Derek Mitchell and Givon Christian are among the Sixers’ six retained players.

Who did the District Sixers retain?

  1. Derek Mitchell
  2. Givon Christian
  3. Wesley Bedja
  4. Daniel Smith
  5. Christiaan Oberholzer
  6. Jesse Christensen

The Sixers have also gained wicketkeeper-batsman Ridaa Isaacs, who has left the Hoeri Kwaggo Bulls for two million CPL dollars – the tournament’s fictional currency.

The Sixers squad will be completed at 23 June 2023’s player auction.

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

More about the Cape Premier League

The Devil’s Peak Dragons are the reigning Cape Premier League champions. They beat the Sixers in the 2022 final.

The Dragons are the most successful team in the brief history of the tournament with two titles.

The CPL started in 2019, when the Cape Vikings beat the Bulls in the final for the maiden title.

The tournament was not played in 2020 amid the coronavirus pandemic.

The West Coast Outlaws and Peninsula Patriots are the newest additions to the CPL, which comprises eight teams.

MORE latest Cape Premier League (CPL) news