Durbanville Cricket Club batsman to play against Australia

File image: Pieter Malan.

Durbanville Cricket Club’s Pieter Malan has been named in South Africa A’s XI for late February 2018’s first-class fixture against Australia.

Malan is relishing a superb stretch of form for the Cape Cobras – and is currently the top run-scorer in the 2017-18 Sunfoil Series. He also topped the 2017-18 Momentum One Day Cup run-scoring ranks.

The talented right-hander played for South Africa Under-19, but this will be his first time representing South Africa A.

The team will be captained by Dolphins captain Khaya Zondo.

The match will be played at Willowmoore Park in Benoni on 22, 23 and 24 February.

“With no franchise cricket scheduled for that weekend, it gives another group of fringe players an ideal opportunity to show what they have to offer against top quality opposition,” said Cricket South Africa national pelection panel convener Linda Zondi.

South Africa A XI: Khaya Zondo, Theunis de Bruyn, Zubayr Hamza, Beuran Hendricks, Pieter Malan, Wiaan Mulder, Senuran Muthusamy, Duanne Olivier, Rudi Second, Malusi Siboto, Shaun von Berg.