Durbanville Cricket Club seal WPCA premier league title

Durbanville Cricket ClubDurbanville Cricket Club.

Durbanville Cricket Club won the 2021-22 Western Province Cricket Association premier league late last week.

Durbanville Cricket Club won 14 matches in 20 attempts. They finished with 70 points at the top of the 11-team standings. They ended four points ahead of second-placed Rondebosch Cricket Club.

Batsman Jean Strydom and seamer Jody Lawrence exemplified Durbanville Cricket Club’s success with 82 and a six-wicket haul, respectively, in the final match of the season against Rylands Cricket Club.

? Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp – club cricket news straight to your phone. User comments disabled, so no spam – just relevant news.

The University of the Western Cape Cricket Club, Green Point Cricket Club and Western Province Cricket Club finished third, fourth and fifth, respectively.

Six, seventh and eight position went to Claremont Cricket Club, Rylands Cricket Club and Cape Town Cricket Club, respectively. This was Rylands Cricket Club’s maiden season in the WPCA premier league. Brackenfell Cricket Club finished in ninth position.

Promotion and relegation

Bellville Cricket Club and Victoria Cricket Club ended 10th and 11th, respectively. They will likely be relegated to the first division A for the 2022-23 season.

Kraaifontein Cricket Club and Ottoman Cricket Club will likely be promoted from the first division A – and replace Bellville Cricket Club and Victoria Cricket Club in the premier league.

More club cricket news