Durbanville Cricket Club stars join Mzansi Super League

George LindeFile image: George Linde.

Durbanville Cricket Club and Cape Cobras all-rounder George Linde and batsman Janneman Malan were signed by the Cape Town Blitz during Wednesday, 17 October 2018’s Mzansi Super League player draft in Johannesburg.

Hermanus Cricket Club seamer Ferisco Adams, too, has joined the Blitz. England and former Bellville Cricket Club batsman Dawid Malan was unveiled as the Blitz’s marquee international player.

Their marquee Proteas player was going to be Strandfontein Cricket Club’s JP Duminy. He, however, has been sidelined by shoulder surgery – and replaced by wicketkeeper-batsman Quinton de Kock.

Pakistani Asif Ali, West Indian spinner Samuel Badree, fast bowler Dale Steyn, batsman Farhaan Behardien, seamers Malusi Siboto and Anrich Nortje and African Warriors Cricket Club all-rounder Andile Phehlukwayo will also play for the Blitz.

Bohemian Cricket Club batsman Marco Marais, meanwhile, was signed by the Nelson Mandela Bay Giants.

The inaugural Twenty20 tournament will feature six teams and span 32 matches, from 16 November to 16 December 2018. The Blitz’s home matches will be played at Newlands in Cape Town.

The competition will also feature the Durban Heat, Paarl Rocks, Tshwane Spartans, Nelson Mandela Bay Giants and Jozi Stars.

Former Western Province Cricket Club seamer Tshepo Moreki and United Cricket Club’s Dane Paterson will play for the Rocks.