Durbanville Cricket Club win inaugural Cape Town Club Cricket League title and R50,000

Durbanville Cricket Club T10Durbanville Cricket Club.

Durbanville Cricket Club won the inaugural Cape Town Club Cricket League title on Sunday, 14 April 2024.

SUBSCRIBE to Club Cricket SA’s YouTube channel for live streaming

They beat Bellville Cricket Club by eight wickets in the final – and were awarded R50,000. Runners-up Bellville Cricket Club received R25,000.

Bellville Cricket Club T10

Bellville Cricket Club.

Durbanville Cricket Club had collected seven wins and one defeat en route to the final.

Batsmen Kai Curran and Ruben Senekal were their top run-scorers in the tournament with 298 and 228, respectively. Curran was awarded R2,500 for the batsman of the tournament award.

Spinners Brad Petersen and Eddie Schutte were their top wicket-takers. Petersen took 11 wickets to Schutte’s nine – and was awarded R2,500 for the bowler of the tournament award.

Kai Curran cricket

Kai Curran (left).

“It could have easily been overwhelming for me as captain, but it was good to have some good heads in the team to turn to,” said Durbanville Cricket Club captain Senekal.

Good teams win matches at crucial stages and that is what we did. Jean Strydom and Brad did really well for us.

“Everybody knows them on the club cricket scene and they showed why here. Our coaching staff did really well for us, too.”

Rondebosch Cricket Club all-rounder Morne Pentz was named player of the tournament. He was awarded R5,000.

Brad Petersen cricket

Brad Petersen.

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

What is the Cape Town Club Cricket League (CCCL)?

The Cape Town Club Cricket League is a new eight-team T10 tournament.

Former Western Province Cricket Association president Nabeal Dien helped organise the tournament, which has financial support from companies in the United Arab Emirates and India.

Composition of the Cape Town Club Cricket League

Dien wanted the tournament to comprise only WPCA premier league clubs. Cape Town Cricket Club, Western Province Cricket Club and others declined participation for reasons such as lack of player availability after the regular WPCA season.

Ultimately, five premier league and three first division A clubs entered the tournament.

List of 2024 Cape Town Club Cricket League teams

  • Bellville Cricket Club
  • Durbanville Cricket Club
  • Kraaifontein Cricket Club
  • Milnerton Cricket Club
  • Rondebosch Cricket Club
  • Northerns Goodwood Cricket Club
  • Victoria Cricket Club
  • Tygerberg Cricket Club

Cape Town Club Cricket League players

Unlike the Cape Premier League, players represent clubs rather than franchises. Participating clubs are allowed to invite players from clubs not involved in the Cape Town Cricket League to be in the squad and XI.

Examples of this are Western Province Cricket Club’s Justin Behrens, Pinelands Cricket Club’s Jordan Woolf, Primrose Cricket Club’s David Schierhout, Cape Town Cricket Club’s Tristan Coetzee and Strandfontein Cricket Club’s Josh Chippendale representing Milnerton Cricket Club.

MORE Cape Town Club Cricket League T10 news