Durbanville, Victoria and Tygerberg stars win big at Cape Cobras awards

File image: Janneman Malan.

Durbanville Cricket Club’s Janneman Malan was named the Young Player of the Year, Players’ Player of the Year and Player of the Year at the annual Cape Cobras awards this week.

Malan, who joined from North West and the Lions last year, enjoyed a standout first season for the Cobras. The period included a T20I debut for the Proteas against Pakistan in February 2019.

“It is a great honour to win the prizes. It is a bit of a hollow feeling that we did not win a trophy, but it motivates us to work harder to put silverware in the trophy cabinet next season,” said Malan.

“My first century for the franchise at the Wanderers was special. In the One-Day Cup, with JP Duminy to get to 220 in 28 overs and win the game against the Dolphins was also special.”

Victoria Cricket Club seamer Rory Kleinveldt and spinner Dane Piedt won the franchise’s One-Day Cup Player and Four-Day Franchise Series Player of the Year accolades, respectively.

“I think taking my first five-for, against the Knights, was a highlight as we needed to win the game to reach the semi-finals. A couple of three-fors were also nice,” added Kleinveldt.

“Knocking the poles over was my biggest goal. Next season will be my last and putting a trophy in the cabinet room will be the best way to end my career.”

Tygerberg Cricket Club’s Vernon Philander claimed the Cobras’ CSA T20 Challenge Player of the Year award.