Eastern Province Over-40 finalise 17-man squad for inter-provincial tournament

Eastern Province Over-40 cricketEastern Province Over-40.

The Eastern Province Over-40 squad for May 2023’s inter-provincial tournament in Johannesburg has been confirmed.

The 17-man squad was ratified by Eastern Province Veterans Cricket Association chairman Clint Jacobs.

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

The inter-provincial tournament will feature former Proteas cricketers. Batsman Alviro Petersen and seamer Garnett Kruger have been selected for the Lions Over-40 squad. Batsman Ashwell Prince will captain Western Province Over-40.

Several former first-class cricketers will participate in the tournament as well, including Lions Over-40 quintet Matthew Harris, Warren Dugmore, Johan Fourie, Gareth Flusk and Solmzi Ndima.

Titans Over-40 have former Cape Cobras batsman Derek Brand. East Rand Over-40 have former Dolphins batsman Kyle Smit.

Eastern Province Over-40 squad

  1. Nevin Nel
  2. Grant Marais
  3. Nathan Jones
  4. Mario Venter
  5. Brent Emslie
  6. Armien Kahaar
  7. Justin Dollery
  8. Dewald van Rooyen
  9. Mellville Daniels
  10. Leslie Du Piesanie
  11. Fadlie Adams
  12. William Copeman
  13. Clint Jacobs
  14. Riaan Kivedo
  15. Eric Gallant
  16. Charlton Assam
  17. Brandon Johnson

Over-40 inter-provincial tournament background

Wanderers Cricket Club and Old Edwardians Cricket Club will host the inter-provincial tournament, which will feature eight teams:

The tournament is scheduled to start on 8 May and end on 12 May. Matches will be contested over 45 overs per innings.

South Africa will host the Over-40 World Cup in 2024. South Africa hosted the Over-50 World Cup earlier this year.

More Over-40 inter-provincial tournament (IPT) news