Edgemead, Somerset West, Peninsula CC win T20 finals

Somerset West Cricket ClubSomerset West Cricket Club.

Edgemead Cricket Club, Somerset West Cricket Club and Peninsula Cricket Club were crowned the Western Province Cricket Association’s 2021-22 Ama20 Competition first division B, first division C and first division D champions, respectively, on Sunday, 20 March.

All three matches were played at Newlands.

? Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp – club cricket news straight to your phone. User comments disabled, so no spam – just relevant news.

First division D final

Peninsula Cricket Club collected a final total of 154 for eight. Hanover Park Cricket Club replied with 149 for nine to lose by five runs.

  • Peninsula CC top batsman: D Jaftha – 27 not out off 16 deliveries
  • Peninsula CC top bowler: Enver Williams – four for 17 in four overs
  • Hanover Park CC top batsman: Carlyle Roberts – 39 off 26 deliveries
  • Hanover Park CC top bowler: Cheslin Fredericks – four for 27 in four overs
Peninsula Cricket Club

Peninsula Cricket Club

First division C final

Wynberg Cricket Club were limited to 117 all out. Somerset West Cricket Club responded with 121 for three for a seven-wicket win.

  • Somerset West CC top batsman: Wiehann Meyer – 40 off 36 deliveries
  • Somerset West CC top bowler: Hein Claasen – three for 23 in 3.4 overs
  • Wynberg CC top batsman: Devon Brown – 34 off 18 deliveries
  • Wynberg CC top bowler: Mohamed Rahman – two for 25 in four overs

First division B final

Edgemead Cricket Club were restricted to 80 all out. Montrose Cricket Club replied with 78 for seven to lose by two runs.

  • Edgemead CC top batsman: Dave Henderson – 19 off 21 deliveries
  • Edgemead CC top bowler: Duane Abel – three for seven in four overs
  • Montrose CC top batsman: Sipho Mavenda – 28 not out off 25 deliveries
  • Montrose CC top bowler: Hishaam Lagadien – four for 19 in 3.4 overs.
Edgemead Cricket Club

Edgemead Cricket Club

First division A final

Ottoman Cricket Club and Tygerberg Cricket Club will contest the first division A final on Sunday, 27 March.

The women’s premier league final between Tygerberg Cricket Club and Old Mutual Cricket Club will be played on the same day, at the same venue.

Premier league final

The Ama20 Competition premier league champion was decided last month. Bellville Cricket Club won the premier league final.

Losing finalists Western Province Cricket Club, however, qualified for the T20 Community Cup regional play-off because Bellville Cricket Club did not select a black African cricketer in the XI for enough fixtures and were, effectively, consequently disqualified from competing in the play-off.

Western Province Cricket Club later succeeded in the regional play-off, beating Boland’s Worcestershire United Cricket Club and South Western Districts’ George Cricket Club.

This means Western Province Cricket Club will represent the province at the T20 Community Cup in Pretoria next month.

More club cricket news