Egon Rushin succeeds Firhaan Sulaiman as Victoria Cricket Club chairman

Egon Rushin.Egon Rushin.

Egon Rushin has been named Victoria Cricket Club chairman ahead of the 2022-23 Western Province Cricket Association season.

Rushin has succeeded former chairman Firhaan Sulaiman.

This will be Rushin’s first term. Sulaiman had held the position for twice – initially for five years and later two.

? Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

“As we head into the new season of 202223, we would like to take a moment to welcome new members to our executive committee,” read a statement from Victoria Cricket Club.

“Chairman: Egon Rushin; trustee one: Cheslyn Lodewyk; trustee two: Robin Hendricks; match and registration secretary: Marco Wyngard; club captain: Tyrone Herbert; treasurer: Shaun Jacobs; head of youth cricket: Faizel Ely; and club secretary: Jeremy Williams.

“Here’s to a fruitful season for the flame.”

Victoria Cricket Club’s first XI have been relegated to the WPCA first division A.

They finished toward the bottom of the 2021-22 premier league standings, after four wins, 15 losses and one no-result.

More club cricket news